… Sometimes, Reality BITES!


Every now and then I get a good, healthy dose of reality. Most of the time it’s not wanted, because I prefer to live in the security of my own little bubble. But sometimes reality sneaks up on me. Like Yesterday. I wanted to take reality to the back shed and beat the $#!* out of it.

I really did.

I know my boy has made a TON of progress… it’s not that at all. It’s just saddening to see how truly behind he is at times, and it just sucks to sit and watch. You know what I mean?

Yesterday we went to visit some friends that we haven’t seen in a very long time; like, 2 years too long. They have four absolutely gorgeous children between the ages of 7 and 5 weeks old. These kids were so fantastic that I commented to my friend, “how do you do it?” She just shook her head and said, “I have no idea.” I have to say that her and her husband make a great team together and they compliment each other very well.

The kids were all playing in the other room, and every now and then one of them would come out and “tattle” on Willy, or say that Willy pushed or hit them.

It completely devastates me every time this happens, no matter where I am or who I’m with. I was embarrassed because, OF COURSE it’s my kid that’s being a problem. It never seems to be anyone else’s kid… just mine. It just seemed like that in the moment.

My friend talked to her kids and explained to them in a way that completely amazed me, “Willy is in a new place with new toys. Give him time and he’ll play with all of you.” And he did. We all went outside and the kids all played on the swing-set and slide together. They played “chase.” They played a jumping-off-the-slide game… and it was beautiful to watch.

We left when it all became just a little too much for Willy (no nap) and a long ride home. My friends words resonated in my head, because she is the greatest mom I know… “give him time and he’ll play with all of you.” Most kids don’t need time, but mine does… and I have to remember that, because my kid is different and I’m still getting used to it.

… Sometimes, reality bites.

Image

SO true

Leave a Reply

