Where Does The Time Go?


As a parent, life as you remember it was probably and still is, drastically different from your single days. Remember those day’s? Sleeping till when ever, going by your own agenda, no one to answer to besides your boss/husband/boyfriend/girlfriend? Yeah… I thought you’d remember those days.

I remember it was all about me (I know it sounds selfish). I worked a 9-5 job, I used to go to Yoga once a week, I took a country line dancing class at some point, I had and went to parties, danced until dawn, and I even stayed up later than 9:30 on a week day. Life was simple then… easy… different. 

Now, I can’t even remember the last time I went to Yoga, took any kind of class for fun, and I’m lucky if I can keep my head up until 9:00 p.m. on any given night. I don’t consider this complaining. I consider this a memory of my old life, that at times I would give just about anything to have it back. Just once.

I remember when my son was born, his entrance into this world was filled with sheer joy. I was also scared out of my mind at the same time, because I was now officially responsible for someone else besides my cat. A few hours after his birth, Willy and I had a little chat while daddy took a long and well deserved nap. I remember telling him all of the things that I wanted for him in life, like: finding happiness, finding true love, having a good work ethic, having patience, showing tolerance, being supportive of other people, trying not judge others, and to be a kind and caring individual. I also told him that I hope he goes to college and majors in something that will make him happy, and that I hope he never feels shy or embarrassed to come to us (mommy and daddy) when ever he needs us, because we will ALWAYS be there for him. And lastly, I told him that who ever he becomes in this world, gay or straight (never narrow), we will always support him and his choices, because we are a family now, and families always stick together. 

Willy yawned in my arms and fell back to sleep, and so did I.

Now, I look at my four year old son with such awe. Where did the time go? How did he grow up to be 40 inches tall and 41 pounds? I often wish that I could press the pause button on life so I can enjoy my little guy while he’s still this little, but I know thats not a possibility, so I’ll just keep taking picture after picture to keep reminding myself of how much he’s grown and changed over time. 🙂 

I know that my life is far from care free now, but at least I have the support of family and friends to lean on when I need it the most. And I do know that I need to take more time for myself to do things that make me happy… like that chocolate making class that I’ve been drooling over since last weekend. So, I’ll just end with this quote from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off “life moves pretty. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while… you could miss it.” 

Image

Our first family picture

Leave a Reply

