Girl Meets Boy


It was 1996. I was a freshman in college, and for the first time in my life…I had an independence that most teens only dream of. Since I was trying to “find myself” I took a bunch of freshman courses to see what I’d excel at, and some no-brainer’s that were just for fun.

Like musical theater, for example.

I loved to sing and was quite good at it… if memory serves. All of the freshman had to perform for an audition, and of course I picked a piece that was totally and completely ME. I decided to sing “Sandra Dee” from Grease. After I practiced and practiced it was my turn to perform. I didn’t completely suck, but I wasn’t great either. I was nervous and of course my nerves got the better of me. As I was leaving the music hall with my roommate, this guy passed by me and said “good job.” I was stunned, but I had no idea who he was.

That compliment has stayed with me to this day.

As weeks went by, we were preparing for a concert for Alumni Weekend. My college was extremely old and so were many of the Alums. We were performing to mainly get some money donated to keep our program alive, and dazzling the old ladies was our main goal… but thats another story for another time.

On the night of the show, we were all excited and eager to perform. Even my parents came to see me! While I was waiting in the wings of the theater with my friends, I heard this voice on stage. At first it was in tandem with a female voice. Then they harmonized. Then he was singing solo. It was brilliant and breathtaking all at the same time. I pushed my way to get a glimpse of the stage, and there was the guy who gave me the compliment only weeks before.

I got the chills.

Soon enough we became friends. His name was Jason. He had kind, blue, eyes, longish blond hair, a warm smile, a good sense of humor. We stayed friends for many years, always keeping our musical theater background close by.

I was at his graduation three years later, and he was at mine the following year.

We lost touch for a little while and then through a mutual friend we were reunited… and the rest was history. I knew right away on our first actual date, that he was man that I was meant to marry. I knew that he was going to be my partner in crime for life, and someday, an excellent father.

So, here we are ten years later, and almost seven years married. We have a happy life together and a beautiful child to show for it.

Thank you Jason for being there for me everyday and telling me everyday how much I am loved. Xoxox

IMG_0011

Shakespeare in the park 2004

8 thoughts on “Girl Meets Boy

  1. The love you both share for one another is breath-taking. I love you both so much and look to forward to your many, many adventures together.

Leave a Reply

