Us moms gotta stick together


Look mom! I'm being cute!

Look mom! I’m being cute!

As the mother of a special needs child, moms can always spot other moms who are in the same position. It’s kind of like this innate intuition that goes unspoken, but we are very aware of it. We just naturally gravitate towards one another. It’s a special sense of mom-ESP.

Last night I was at a New Years party celebrating Rosh Hashanah with my family and friends. Willy and I look forward to it every year, because there are always kids to play with, the food is yummy, and best of all, it gives me a chance to catch up with old friends and make some new ones.

Last night, was no exception.

As the kids were running around outside, playing tag/chase, doing cartwheels and flips, I found myself just staring at my son in awe. He was trying so hard to keep up with the big kids; doing summer-salutes and rolls. He was having the time of his life AND he had the attention of the “big girls.” Willy was in heaven!

As I fumbled for my phone to try to snap a picture or two (of course I missed the moment) another mom was standing next to me doing the exact same thing. We were both in awe of our kids and how they just blended in with the others. It was an incredible feeling.

We never spoke about our kids disabilities, or what each of us goes through on a day-to-day basis, but we both knew that we had found each other and that we both had a lot in common. We both shared cute and silly little anecdotes about our kids and had a few good laughs together.

I ended up leaving a short time later with Willy, because he was exhausted and ready for bed. I said goodbye to all of my old friends and new friends and hopefully my new friend and I will keep in touch.

It’s so important to “find your people” or at least someone you can connect with, when your out and about. As for myself, it really offers me a sense of community and belonging. It’s someone who “gets it.” It’s someone to roll your my eyes at when I need to. And, it’s someone who will not judge me for any reason other than I am a fabulous person and a good friend. 🙂

So, as I tucked Willy into bed last night, I commended him for playing so nicely with the other kids, sharing his toys, and just being an awesome all around kid!

I think we both needed that.

Happy Thursday ya’ll

Leave a Reply

