Trick-or-treating my way!


I’ve been trying to prep Willy for a few weeks now on Halloween; wearing a costume, going out after dinner, ringing doorbells, being polite, etc. And best of all, he finally seems excited about it! Woo-Hoo! I found a social story about trick-or-treating on line and it’s short, simple, and to the point! I think I might try it with him later today. 

Halloween for our kids is probably one of the easiest holidays to prep for. It’s repetitive, it becomes routine, eventually rote, and after they get the hang of it, the prompting becomes less and less. YIPPY!

Thank GOD Willy is not a candy kid, but the idea of Halloween for him should be all about fun, and later, associating it with free and endless amounts of candy, that will be the best thing since… well… ever! Willy knows that he’s going to be a Pirate and has been practicing his “AAAARRRRRRRRR” sounds for a few weeks now. It’s hysterical! Especially when he say’s “trick-or-treat” in a piratey like voice. Ha! I’m getting giddy just thinking about it now. 🙂

We were invited to go trick-or-treating with good friends of ours who live in a wonderful neighborhood, but sadly I had to decline the invitation. Reason being? I have no idea how Willy is going to react to whole Halloween thing, because every year he gets sick or hurt and we can’t go out. Maybe I’m being overly neurotic this year, but I’m not taking any chances. I think Willy will appreciate it in the long run (all of the prep work we’ve done), and have good memories later on in life.

If you have kids that need a little extra preparation for the big night, please share this short but sweet social story with them. I can guarantee that they’ll thank you for the little extra umph that you gave them. Good luck and let me know how it goes. 

Screen+Shot+2012-10-17+at+9.46.03+AM.png

Leave a Reply

