Sorry, folks


I am so sorry, friends. If you just received half of a completed post, it’s my desktop  to blame. It’s old and untrustworthy, and it now seems to have a mind of it’s own. Grrrrrrr. I think it might be time for an upgrade.

Anywho, here is the today’s post: Our week in a nut shell.

First there was this:

Image

This just isn’t going to end well for Elfy

 

Then, there was this:

Image

Typical male!

 

And, of course there were these: 

Image

YEEEEE – HAAAAAAA!

 

Image

This is better than a hot tub!

 

As you can tell, our little Elfy has been busy making mischief while Willy is at school. And to be honest… I love doing it for him. It gives me such pleasure to make make him smile, because his mommy will do just about anything for his dimples. Anything!

Today, Willy’s progress report came home from school. It was tucked deep inside his backpack, and as usual, I always shake like a leaf reading it. I don’t know exactly why, but I guess I’m just classically conditioned to think the worst when it comes to other’s opinions of my boy. But so far, it looks like Willy will be exceeding everyone’s expectations of him and the hard work that he shows everyday. By his 5th birthday, he will have met all of his current IEP goals and then some. YEEESSS! 

I can breathe again.

A few days ago I had a flashback to two years ago. Two years ago, Willy would only eat 5 things, and 5 things only: chocolate pudding, chips, crackers, apple sauce, and cookies. This started happening shortly after he turned 18 months. Because he wasn’t eating anything remotely nutritious, I started giving him “Boost” a children’s high calorie, vitamin drink, twice a day to supplement what he wasn’t getting through table food. His growth and weight were steady, but still, I worried. This went on for a year and a half, until one day, I just couldn’t take it anymore. I sat down at the kitchen table, dug my heals in, and made him eat/lick/kiss a chicken nugget. After a few day’s of protest, Willy began eating. And so it began. Willy now eats multiple fruit’s, vegetables, and proteins! and since then, his height and weight have spiked. If I knew then what I know now, I would have known that this was attention seeking behavior, and not a medical condition.

At 18 months, he was tooling me around!

Also this week, I was thinking about where we live and how different schools systems across the state vary in terms of Special Ed. programing, service providers, and knowledge of Special Education staff. It worries me, because my husband and I would like to eventually move to another city, but their Special Education programs are questionable (sigh). I want to best for my boy, but I also want a nice home to live in, with a yard, a family friendly neighborhood, a low property tax, a good school system, etc. Is it too much to ask for, for all of this? Apparently it is!

Oh well, We’ll keep looking, or better yet, Jason and I will just win the lottery, and build our own cul da sac, like my fabulous friend J suggested. Who’s in? 🙂

Well, my dear, dear, friends, I must begin my Friday evening. It’s girls night with our kids, and it should be fun. 🙂 Have a fun and safe weekend, and I’ll write again on Monday.

One thought on “Sorry, folks

Leave a Reply

