Goodbye 2013, and HELLO 2014


Looking back at this past year, I started thinking about the resolutions I didn’t keep, the weight I never lost, the house I never bought, the decisions that had to be made (good and bad), friends that I had to “clean house” with, crossing my fingers, uncrossing them, making endless phone calls, fighting with my insurance company, making new friends, starting a new job, getting a diagnosis, getting a misdiagnosis, getting a new diagnosis, medicating my child, getting good news, getting great news, moving on, moving up, moving out. and so on. It’s exhausting. My life is exhausting. 

But on the upside, I met all of you. 🙂 I started blogging last summer in a desperate need to connect with others when I was at my absolute lowest point of my adult life. And since then, my readers are the ones who keep me writing. You are the ones who keep me open, honest, and cared about, because a lot of you are in the same position that my husband and I are in. 

We, my friends are parents. We are educators, friends, aunts, uncles, grandparents, great grandparents, cousins, and allies. All of our lives have been touched in one way or another by someone with special needs, and it makes us all better people for having known them. For having witnessed their triumphs and their victories. For having loved them as you would your own child. And that my friends is what makes you all incredibly special. So, thank you for that.

So, being that this is New Years Eve and we are all going to be ringing in the new year with all it’s glory, I implore you to do as I am going to do. Let’s try and let go of all of the crap and baggage from 2013, and lighten our load for 2014. Let’s try and let go of all of the shoulda, coulda, woulda’s, and bring in the “I will’s”, the “I promise”, and the “love” that we all so richly deserve for this up incoming  new year. I want our new year to be filled with hope and not regret. I want my son to thrive and not be held back by people who just don’t get it. I want 2014 to be filled with laughter, kindness, and capable people who do good onto others as we would do for them. 

So, who’s with me?

Happy new year to all of my friends from around the globe. To you; my readers, and to everyone who makes a difference in this world. Happy 2014.

Love

Jill, Jason, and Willy

Image

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 2013, and HELLO 2014

Leave a Reply

