Can you tell me how to get to Sesame Street?


Image

These guys always make feel like a kid again.

 

As a mother, I feel that it is my duty to help prepare my son for the world at hand. And because of that, I have two very real fears that reside in my head every time my son and I step out of the house together; will I loose sight of him in a public place? Will he know how to answer someone’s questions if they try to help him?

about a year and a half ago I started teaching my son social questions. Social questions are questions asked to someone to start a conversation and giving a real/truthful answer in return. For example, What is your name? What is your favorite food? Where do you live? Etc. In the Sped world though, teaching social questions is crucial. It teaches our children/students how to identify themselves. Yes, it is a great conversation starter as well, but grilling important questions into their heads at an early age can make all the difference between an emergency situation and a situation saved. Are you following me here?

So, I started teaching my son the basics: What is your name? How old are you? What is your favorite color? What is your daddy’s name? What is your mommy’s name? Etc. I find it hysterical that my son knows my husband as “Jay” and not Jason, and my son knows me as “Magic” and not Jill.

Yes, mommies ARE magic. Especially in my son’s eyes.

But in all seriousness, I was trying to teach my son an important name, just incase something were to happen. Now, we’re working on his address, because I think that, that bit of knowledge is just as important as his first and last name. One night a while back, Willy was in the bathtub playing with his Ernie and rubber duckie boat, when I asked him out of the blue, “where do you live?” He looked at me, thought about it for a few seconds, and said with a big smile, Sesame Street! I honestly was crying, I was laughing so hard. I love my kid. He’s so cool!

It’s a work in progress. 🙂

So, in the spirit of Sesame Street and wanting to live there apparently, my husband and I, and some wonderful friends will be taking all of our kids to Sesame Street Live next Saturday. This will be Willy’s first live show and I am so excited about it. I think he’s ready for it, and if things get a little “hairy,” we can always take a quick walk or find somewhere quiet to relax for a few minutes. But I know for a fact that when Willy sees Ernie and Elmo… he’s going to flip! Ernie and Emo have the same celebrity status in our home as Thomas the Tank Engine and Jake from Jake and the Neverland Pirates. I’m so excited.

I promise to take pictures and post them the following Monday.

Happy Hump Day 

 

4 thoughts on “Can you tell me how to get to Sesame Street?

  1. the wild answers will keep coming. It’s amazing how their minds work! Seth came out to the van the other day with a towel, a pillow, a magnifying glass and a roll of toilet paper. When asked why he had those things he said “to be prepared!” Who knows what he was preparing for but it’s just how his mind was working. Those moments are special and crazy and things to laugh about in our crazy world of our special kiddos!

Leave a Reply

