A new success!


Saturday was the day. I’ve been gushing to Willy all week that we would be going to Sesame Street Live! I was so excited for my boy to experience a right of passage that all children should experience at least once during their childhood. Sesame Street is important to Jason and I, since it’s our generation (yes, we are both children of the 80’s). Some characters come and go, but the ones that touch our hearts are here to stay. Willy has always been partial to Elmo and Ernie, but it was one of the newer characters that my son adores, and it took me by surprise, but we’ll get to that later.

But first, there was this

Image

Willy and his best girl E, are super excited for the show!

The two kids were so excited for the show. They even got special magic wands to mark the occasion. After the mini photo session, we all gathered by the door so we could be ushered to our seats. I must express this before I go any further, that waiting for any period of extended time, causes extreme anxiety for my boy. He gets agitated, he has the tendency to flop, hit, and sometimes cry. Well, we experienced a little bit of everything, but since he’s still small enough to carry, I scooped him up in my arms and soothed him with a song, a giggle, and a tickle. He even let my “fabulous friend J” get in on the action. 🙂

Once we got to our seats, we still has 15 ish minutes to go before the show started, so I whipped out the ipad, a snack, and a juice box, and that was able to satisfy him until the show started. But once it did… WHOAH!

Image

It started with this.

 

Image

I can’t stop dancing!

Image

“Look, it’s Rosita!” he kept yelling. She is the new favorite.

Image

I’m so happy!

And then there was intermission; evil, evil, evil intermission. I don’t know why, but I wasn’t expecting it. The second the lights went up, about a half-a-dozen ushers came out with ENORMOUS Elmo/Cookie Monster balloons. Jason looked at me, and I looked at him, and we said simultaneously, “are you kidding me?!?” So of course every kid in the theater went nuts and wanted a balloon, because, who wouldn’t? They were awesome… and $10. Yep.

So, we got the kid a balloon and let him play with it for a few minutes. Then I had to tuck it under our seats, so we didn’t “obstruct” anyones view. What a pain in the butt. And then the show began again.

Thats when we lost him. 

I had a feeling that would happen, so I brought him out to the lobby and let him run around for a few minutes with a few other kids who were all doing the same thing. He showed them his glowing magic wand and got some of his energy out. YAY! Then we went back into the theater and watched the rest of the show. 

It was such an amazing sight to watch. I was absolutely in awe of my little man. He was so excited to see Rosita (his favorite, apparently) and Oscar the Grouch. He counted stars, sang, danced, and was just so happy. I was happy that he was happy. Jason too. 

After the show, we all went to a “restaurant” per Willy’s request and he ordered his favorite meal of chicken fingers and french fries. And of course, there was this:

Image

Willy and his “best girl, E” after a yummy meal.

We got home late, and as I was giving Willy his good night kiss, I asked him if he had a good time, and he said “I had a great time!” I don’t doubt it for even a second that he had the time of his life, and this experience just goes to prove that we can take Willy to all kinds of exciting places, just as long as we prepare him for it. 

I’m so proud of my little man. 

Leave a Reply

