Support


Image

Remember These?

 

I talk a lot on this blog about how important it is for us to have a support system that is reliable and caring. If it wasn’t for my support system, I can honestly tell you that I would probably not be in as good of a place as I am right now. And thats the truth. There are so many moms and dads, grandmothers and grandfathers, aunts and uncles, etc. who struggle everyday with their special needs child/children, and have no one to turn to in times of crisis. 

This is a serious problem.

Our special needs community is a caring one. We are open, honest, and can spot a another special needs parent from a mile away.  I used to think I had a neon sign on my forehead with an arrow pointing directly at me, saying “please be gentle with me. I’m fragile.” Since then, my sign has disappeared, and my self loathing has disappeared. I am very proud that I can say that out loud and invite others to lean on me in their times of crises.

Now don’t get me wrong, I still have my moments. I still cry, ask “why,” and wonder if my son will ever be able to overcome his obstacles. I still wonder if my precious boy, who’s laughter could light up the earth, and who’s smile is more powerful than a thousand suns, can maneuver this world… even though it doesn’t conform to his needs at times. He bends for what is “typical” everyday. He works hard at controlling his temper when his patience have reached their limit, and he strives to be understood, even when he can’t be understood. 

He’s amazing! 

He’s my hero!

I hope when Willy is old enough to read this blog someday, he has his own support system. I hope he has a best friend, a true love, or someone who he can turn to when he needs them. As his mom, it’ll be my pleasure to be there for him in good times and in bad, but relying on others will be just as important, because independence is key. I know that Willy will always have his “best girl E” and his “best buddies “J” and “P” by his side, and together, the three of them will always be there for my boy. I know that they will always be life long friends. 

Image

Boys will be boys. Summer 2013 Willy and his best buddy J.

Image

Deep breath. Willy and his “best girl E.”

Image

Iron Man Rocks! Willy and his “buddy P”

So, just to give me some peace of mind, please take a moment to think about who is in your support system. Are they there for you when you need them? Are they reliable by way of emotional support? Do they really know you for you and won’t ever judge you? If you answered “yes” to these three questions, than you are supported and are in a good place if a crises or non-crisis ever hit. If you didn’t answer “yes” then take some time to re-evaluate your circle of friends and family, and make sure that you have someone who will be there for you in your time of need. Why? Because you are very important.

No need for further explanation. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Support

Leave a Reply

