A letter to “that girl”


Dear middle school bully,

You probably don’t remember me, but I was the girl that you bullied and teased relentlessly in the seventh and eighth grade. You spread rummers about me. You ganged up on me with your little posse. You teased my constantly. You belittled and berated me everyday. You said mean and horrible things to me that have been burned into my memory, and will stay there for the rest of my life. 

Do you remember me now?

No?

Okay, that’s fine. I’m sure that you moved on with your life and you found other victims to pick on once we got to high school. But I have news for you lady! Because of you, I made a vow to protect children from people like you, everyday for the rest of my life. Because of you, I became an educator. I don’t ever want what happened to me to happen to others. Because of you, there are social groups out there to help kids deal with their feelings when they are being bullied. AND, because of you, hundreds of kids out there have reached their limits and can’t take it anymore.

They take their own lives, because of people like you.

But in a strange way, I guess I should be thanking you. Who woulda thunk?

Because of you, I overcame your torment and I went on to become a strong and successful woman. I am also a mother (not that you care), but I make dam sure that my son knows everyday, how important he is; not only to me and his father, but to his community and his peers as well. I am teaching my son tolerance. I am teaching my son acceptance. And I am also teaching my son to respect everyone who crosses his path. And if I ever find out that he was the source of another child’s misery, you better believe that I will get to the source of it and remedy the situation at once so it never happens again, because respect is essential.

I am hoping that you have carried on with your life and have realized the error of your ways. I’m hoping that if you are a mother, you are teaching your own child/children to respect and be a kind to others. I am also hoping that you realize the affect you have on people and are working towards a future of kindness and forgiveness.

Just know that I will not be there to applaud your new outlook on life or accept an apology, but know that every effort you make in the right direction, is a step in the right direction. Every effort counts. So, good luck and I wish you well in life.

Sincerely,

Jill 

And no, I will not accept you friend request on facebook. 

Image

                            … Word!

 

Here are some anti-bulling websites: http://www.stopbullying.gov, http://www.pacer.org/bullying/, and the http://www.thebullyproject.com

 

Leave a Reply

