Throwback Monday


Image

                            Hahahahaha!

 

It’s true! I can still fit into the earrings that I wore in high school, but my stoned washed jeans on the other hand… definitely not. But, I do remember my high school self as clear as day. I was a dreamer. Creative. I was popular amongst my group of friends, and I was also a glorified band geek! I LOVED being a band geek. 

I had a mission. 

I knew exactly how I wanted my life to go. I wanted to have a high school sweetheart, I wanted to be a part of almost every club I could possibly handle, I wanted a best friend, get decent grades, and just live my life to the absolute fullest. I didn’t want to miss out on anything,  and the best part of all, I had a friend who wanted to exact same things as I did. We would go out and buy bridal magazines together and plan our perfect weddings. We had our future children’s names picked out, where we would live, and the fact that we were best friends simply meant that our future husbands would HAVE to be best friends as well. 

That is what I thought about  in high school. I thought about my future and how perfect it would be. 

Like I said, I was a dreamer and so was Tara P. We were kindred spirits right from the start, and we were more like sisters, than best friends.

Image

Thats me in the middle smoking the cigar. I was such a rebel From the left: Lisa M, me, Tara P, Tara S.

 

When we graduated high school in 1996, Tara and I went our separate ways. We went to different colleges and both majored in very different fields. Tara became a nurse and I became a teacher. I can tell you that in 1996, I didn’t see that one coming. I thought that I would become a social worker or a psychologist or something, because that was what I was interested in way back when. 

Tara and I continued to be best friends through out our entire college experience, and would constantly call and visit each other at our respected campuses. We were only about 45 minutes away from each other, but neither one of us had a car. I had to rely on friends. 

That was hard.

As we grew up, our lives changed and we went in different directions. We were still friends, but even that was different. We eventually got married (no, our husbands were not best friends), had kids (no dream names used), and we live about an hour and a half away from each other. We don’t see each other as much as we’d like, and we mostly communicate through facebook and texting. But when we do see each other, we hug, and hug, and hug. We usually hug until one of us can’t breathe, and then we wipe a tear away and just laugh at each other.

I know that she’ll always be there for me, and I for her. She knows about Willy’s struggles and  how cruel life can be sometimes, but she gets that. I celebrate anyone who “gets it.” So, in honor of Throwback Monday, I thought I’d throw in another oldey but goody picture from high school. 

Image

                   Shaving cream fight. Clearly we lost.

 

 

Editor’s note: Every now and then it’s a wonderful feeling to celebrate someone who deserves it most. Last week, Tara sent me a picture of the two of us posing for our senior prom. It was such a beautiful picture. It was SO us! She didn’t know it at the time, but I was having a really bad day that day. Like… LEGENDARY bad! Tara made me smile through the tears, and even though she didn’t know that I needed a pick-me-up at that exact moment, she sent me the most perfect thing that a friend could do for another friend. She sent me a wonderful memory that I will cherish always.

Thanks, Ta. I love ya!

Leave a Reply

