Mixing business with pleasure?


Happy Thursday my friends. I want to talk about my unique “situation” that I find myself in just about everyday. I want to let you know that I am finding it increasingly harder to not mix business with pleasure. I try to remain steadfast when it comes to relating with my students parents, because sadly… we are all in the same boat a lot of the time. Sometimes, I just want to reach out to them. I want to give them advice, or tell them little tricks that worked for my son so maybe it’ll work for their child, or just be there for them. 

But I can’t. Because even if I do, that would be over stepping my boundaries, breaking trust, confidentiality, professionalism, and so many other rules that I swore I wouldn’t do when I signed on this year. It’s like being stuck between a rock and a hard place, because when I see people struggling… I immediately want to help them, and keeping quiet is just not my style. But I guess that is something that I’m going to have to get used to, isn’t it? 

When I got my very first job out of college, my dad once told me to never “mix business with pleasure.” I worked for a college in the admissions office, and I also ran the theater club as well. It was fantastic! In the fall, my students put on various improv shows and other quirky little numbers, so I could travel for my job and not have to worry about them or other club business. But in the spring, we put on a BIG musical show that total and complete was a success. It even knocked the socks off of the president of the college! 

Go us!

It was amazing! And as I got to know the “kids,” I very quickly realized that most of them were the same age as me, and that they were more my friends, rather than just the students that I supervised. Yeah… I can say that it didn’t end well for any of us, because when I left my job two years later, I decided that it would be best to cut all ties with them, but the memories that I have with all of them, I’ll cherish forever. 

What I really need to do, is just remember what I’m striving for everyday; for my students and their families. To help their kids succeed academically as well as socially, in and out of the classroom. I must remember that this is business, not pleasure. I must keep in mind that their problems are not my problems… no matter how badly I can sympathize with them. No matter how much I can relate, or know exactly what their going through. 

I guess that makes me special in a sense, because I can see both sides of the mountain. I just have to remember to keep that balance of boundaries and professionalism. 🙂 

Image

2 thoughts on “Mixing business with pleasure?

Leave a Reply

