A letter to my son


Dearest Willy,

Today is Tuesday. My morning started off a little sluggish, but when you greeted me with a big, beautiful smile, followed by a boisterous “hi Mommy” from you, my day instantly got brighter. You always know how to start off my day for me. You melt my heart each and every morning and you make me happy… just by being yourself. Your deliciously, kind, honest, loving, and soulful self. 

I admire you so much my sweet boy. You work so hard everyday in a world that doesn’t quite bend the way you’d like it to. It’s harsh sometimes. Unfair. downright frustrating. But you face the world with a smile everyday. You give everything your all and you try harder than most… just to get your point across. And sometimes you succeed, and sometimes you don’t. Sometimes you give it a fair shot, and other times you get frustrated and need to take a break. 

And… thats okay. 

It’ll always be okay.

Sometimes I just look at you and I shake my head in amazement, because I wonder if when “push came to shove,” if I could stand up to the world just like you do. You have a gift my darling boy. A very special gift. You have a gift for seeing people for who they are, and not for who you want them to be. All you have to do is be yourself, and you bring such joy to the would around you, and the people in it. I knew that the very second I met you. I knew that somehow, someday, you would change the world and how people perceive it. 

And your doing it! You help make the sick feel better with a smile, the sad feel happy with a belly laugh, and the worriers feel at ease with a silly joke. You are a wonder. You are my wonder.

I am so proud to be your mommy and your daddy is so proud to be your daddy. I am so proud of the way that you bring our little family together with hug sandwiches and morning snuggles. And even though we’ve seen your favorite television shows about a thousand and one times, we still love snuggling with you on the couch under our favorite big, blue, fleece blanket.  

I’m proud of the way that you show your affections and the way that you wear your heart on your sleeve. I love how you take risks and are daring, but can be cautious at the same time. I love that you can charge head on into something new and give it your all… even if you don’t succeed the first time. And I’m proud that you can share your things and space with others, because I know that it’s hard for you sometimes. Even when your not in the mood to be sharing. I get it. 

Please know my love, that I am always going to be here for you. I’ll be your biggest fan, your loudest cheer leader, your most supportive supporter, and the little voice in your head. Daddy too. Keep being yourself my dear boy, and the sun will warm your cheeks, the breeze will bring your comfort, the sand will tickle your toes, and the snow will tickle your nose.

I love you to the moon and back,

Love,

Mommy

Image

Willy is 10 days old in this picture. He is already the center of my universe.

   

4 thoughts on “A letter to my son

Leave a Reply

