Mindfulness (love more, judge less)


Image

This sends a pretty powerful message, doesn’t it?

Today’s post isn’t about children, parenting, or family. It’s about you! Yes, you! I mean, how often do you really get to focus on yourself, and really get to know yourself as who you are now and not who you used to be? Not too often I’ll bet. Well than this one’s for you. Here we go.

Mindfulness – 1. The quality or state of being conscious or aware of something. 2. A mental state achieved by focusing one’s awareness on the present moment, while calmly acknowledging and accepting one’s feelings. thoughts, and bodily sensations, used as a therapeutic technique. 

I’m going to focus on definition number two today, because to me, mindfulness is how we view ourselves. To me, mindfulness encompasses awareness, compassion, fear, embarrassment, pain, pleasure, love, and so many more feelings, that I only listed a few, because those are the feelings closest to me. Now, I’m going to ask you a question and I want you to really think about it before you answer. Are you ready? Remember, take your time… I’ll wait. 

Do you love yourself?

I mean it. Take your time.

Now, I’m sure a lot of you immediately responded with with a definite “yes,” but in any given moment, do you judge yourself? Harshly? Do you have a trigger for your self judgement? Do you challenge yourself regularly? And, how often do you bring your consciousness to life? The only reason why I ask these questions, is because, as parents/care givers to children with special needs, I feel like we sometimes feel inadequate or less worthy to people who have typical children, and our self worth goes down a notch or two. Weather it be our children melting down in public, or having a play-date go horribly wrong, or whatever the case may be, we constantly beat ourselves up, blame ourselves, and wonder why? A lot! So, when asked if you love yourself for who you are, because you are the one who carried and birthed that beautiful child, at any given moment, and you said “yes,” than good for you! I am so proud of you, because you really know who you are! 🙂 If you said “no” than I can assure you are not alone, and that you are stronger than you realize.

I have my moments of self doubt, self pity, embarrassment, and the whole gamut of emotions, but do I love myself? Sometimes. I guess it depends on the day. Like right now? Sure I love myself, but I’m also beating myself up over the piece of cheese cake that I ate yesterday afternoon, and than had ice cream later in the evening. I am loving myself for finally admitting that I need to ask for help more often than not, and to not hide my emotions in times of excess sadness. I love my beautiful hair, my eyes, and my creativeness. I am really starting to get to know myself again, and keeping people around me who share the same self love as I do. 

A while back, I was asked by a friend if I had ever tried guided meditated before, and sadly… I had not. She told me to go on youtube and find a ten minute guide, and I what I found was incredible. I found “Self Love: 10 minute guided meditation on unconditionally loving and appreciating yourself.” I tried it out again this afternoon while my son was snoozing, and I gotta tell you… WOW! I’m not going to lie here when I say this, but I actually teared up a little, because it just felt so good to celebrate my mind and soul for a few minutes. I teared up because I think I actually forgot about my own self worth/mindfulness, and I really can’t let that happen again. I also need to judge myself less, because sometimes I can be awfully hard on myself.

I was going to share the youtube site with you, but there are just so many to choose from, that it would be wrong of me to choose one for you. Finding your self love and mindfulness is a challenging feat, but once you find your mindfulness, it’ll change your life for the better. Mine is a work in progress, but I can gurantee you that I am going to keep up with it and not give up on my own self worth, because if I did… than that is just down right disrespectful to no one else but me.

XOXOXOX 

How about you? 

Leave a Reply

