A new adventure


Image

Feeling right at home at the doctors

Hi friends. I apologize for my absence yesterday, but Willy and I were at a new doctors office, and boy was it life changing! Get comfortable and I’ll tell you all about it.

A while ago I blogged about how my son’s ADHD was getting out of control again, and the fact that I was becoming desperate to help him wasn’t a good sign. I was so desperate in fact, that I almost jumped on a plane to California with Willy in tow, and let a doctor who specializes in ADHD (who doesn’t take insurance) have a crack at him, but my husband changed my mind about my abrupt decision, but I still held fast to the notion that this doctor was the “be all/know all” in his field. I’m talking about Dr. Daniel Amen.

Well, let me tell you… I have changed my tune. 

A few months ago, my mother had suggested that I take my son to a pediatric allergist who specializes in environmental studies that she knew of, but again, this doctor didn’t take our insurance either, so again, I just decided to let that pipe dream go down the tubes as well. When I was informed a while later that there was a way to still see this doctor, I jumped… no, more like sprinted to the phone and made an appointment. We were sitting in his office one week later, armed with paper work, food journals, progress reports, Willy’s latest IEP, and a few samples of his school work. 

I was READY!

But before I dive any deeper into this story, I must tell you that even before we had stepped into Dr. “Magic’s” office, we were told several times that this was a scent free environment and that no outside food or drink was aloud inside the office. We had to wash our clothes in scent free detergent, I couldn’t use any hair products that any kind of oder to it, I had to use scent free deodorant, and still, NO food or drink was allowed inside the office. 

HOLY CRAP, right?

When we arrived, I had even more paper work to fill out, and as I was trying to wrangle my child, who was running all over the place like a chicken with his head cut off, my mother walked in. Her timing couldn’t have been more perfect. She came as support and a second pair of ears, and I was incredibly thankful for it.

When we were called, Willy was asked to jump on the scale to get a hight and weight check. He measured right on track for a five year old boy, and weighed in at 53 pounds! Yikes! Of course I had to fill out even more paper work; rating on a scale from 1-5 how severe I thought his symptoms were, and the reason why were were there to begin with. I tried not to act annoyed, but I was. I just wanted to skip all of the bull and just get right down to the nitty-gritty, but sadly that doesn’t fly with this doctor’s office. So I began scribbling again on the “clipboard from hell,” and god bless my mother… she was wrangling Willy.

When we finally got to see the doctor, he did a full physical exam on him. He asked Willy all kinds of questions, and me as well, and then he dove into the mountain of paper work that was sitting on his desk. Even I was overwhelmed by all of it. 

The room was quiet.

Then he would look up and ask me a question. 

And then the room was quiet again.

This went on for quite a while.

To put our three hour visit in a nut shell, I was informed that we will be starting Willy on a complex vitamin regime that will consist of Vitamin B complex with high B-6, Fish Oil liquid Omega 3, Magnesium-Potassium Taurate, and a children’s Multi Vitamin. And over time we will tweek his vitamin intake/add more/take some away, depending on what his body needs in the moment. You see, what it all boils down to, is that Willy’s body and brain are functioning in survival mode because he is a picky eater. He isn’t getting the proper nutrition and the essential vitamins and nutrients his body needs to grow and develop, and is his body is using what it has, to do all of the essential jobs of the foods he’s not eating. Does that make sense?

Now, I don’t know too many kids who will sit down and eat a piece of salmon, but I do know that it’s hard to get my son to eat a piece of plain chicken breast, unless it breaded to look like a chicken nugget! Fish sticks too.

But what the doctor implied, was that this is not a quick fix. Not by a long shot. In fact, It’ll take at least 6 months to a year to see some results. The Magnesium and Fish Oil will help to calm Willy down, and to help him focus. The B Complex will help with his mood and anxiety. The doctor reassured me that this will help, but it’s not a quick fix. But the best part of all, was that he enjoyed meeting my boy, and told me that Willy has a very bright future ahead of him. I tried not to act ungrateful, but I said, “how do you know?” And he said, “because in all my years of practice, I have seen many children a lot worse off than your son, and because they all have parents who followed the diets and vitamin regimes, and their parents stayed on top of all of that, all of them are successful, and strong adults.” He still follows up with many of the children who are now adults… and they are all THRIVING! One of them is graduating from medical school with honors, and another is a police officer and is licensed to carry a gun. 

There is hope my friends… there is hope.

I put in my vitamin order last night, and although we will be spending $88.00 a month on Willy’s vitamin regime, I have faith in this doctor whom I lovingly refer to as Dr. Magic. We have only child, and he needs our love and support more than anything, and this doctor has given us hope. I am so excited to see what will happen next, and of course his progress means the world to my husband and I.

Leave a Reply

