Dear Friend,


Dear Friend,

I wanted to start of this letter by saying, “You are amazing!” Truly. I know it sounds cliche’ but sometimes, it really does take a village to raise a child. I know how hard it can be, because, well… parenting is HARD. And nobody tells you that when you sign up for it, do they? NOPE. Nobody tells you that there will be heartbreak, triumph, reasoning, late, late nights, early, early mornings, clashing of the minds, and times where you just want to scream into a pillow.

But you do it. You do it every day. And, you do it well.

The first time we met, I saw you with your husband and three kids, and I admired you from the get go. Your family was adorable, and the way that you handled every situation that came your way, was flawless. I know that right now, things are tough and you feel like your in the weeds, but please know that you are not alone.

You are never alone.

What I’m trying to say, is that… sometimes a good circle of friends is better than a hundred relatives. Friends don’t judge, we just care… and we always will. Friends will be there for you through the good, the bad, and the very, very ugly. Why? Because we love and care about you, just for being you. 

Please know that you are a wonderful mother, even though sometimes you have to make decisions that are less than to be desired. Even though you may feel like your kids chauffeur right now; carting them here, there, and everywhere, they will thank you for it one day. Through late night practices, rehearsals, or what ever, they will always look back on their childhood and remember that you were there for them, and, present in their lives. 

I know it’s hard right now. I know. But sometimes I think that people meet for a reason. I whole-heartedly believe that people come into our lives for a reason that may not be clear right away, but will eventually reveal it’s self sooner, rather than later. You know what I mean? I believe that about us. We were meant to meet, become friends, and just be there for each other… through thick or thin. 

I’m going to end this letter on a high note, because any other way just wouldn’t be right. Congratulations on your oldest’s graduation. You must be beaming right now! Cherish that moment, because at this age… it only happens once. You know exactly what I mean (wink wink, nudge, nudge). Take care my dear friend, and we will pow-wow together soon with margaritas!

This is the "sign" for I love you.

This is the “sign” for I love you.

TGIF

Leave a Reply

