One proud mommy moment and a break.


First, there was this.

Nothin like a dip in the pool to make a dreary Monday totally ROCK!

Nothin like a dip in the pool to make a dreary Monday totally ROCK!

And of course, there was this.

Mugging for the camera

Mugging for the camera

Yesterday when Willy arrived home from school, I surprised him with a trip to the pool. He was so excited that he was jumping up and down yelling “the pool, the pool! Come on Mommy, let’s go!” He could barely sit still long enough for me to slather him with sun screen, and then off he went, flying through the air with the greatest of ease, and then SPLASH! If I had to rate his belly flop from 1-10 (1 being so-so, and 10 being the best), I’d give him an 11. Even the life guard cringed, but my boy just shook it off and continued on his merry way. You see, when we go to the pool, my son could care less about the temperature or if anyone else is in his line of “splash-dom.” He just goes for it… full throttle.

I used to think that this was a problem, because I worried that he would either jump on somebody, or get shocked by the excruciatingly cold water, or not be able to jump into the pool at all. I know a lot of life guards worry about safety, and they should, but come on! Cut a kid a break… pleeeeeeease?

But the part that made our trip to the pool even better, was when I went to sit down on the side to dangle my legs in, and my son yelled to me, “Come in, Mommy. Let’s play!” I think I was stunned into silence for the first time in a long time. I was so proud of how articulate Willy was, and how far he’s come since last summer. So of course I ripped of my coverup as fast as I could, and eased my way into some pretty chilly water, but I didn’t mind. I’d do anything for my kid. Even if it’s swimming in extremely chilly water.

And as I bobbed up and down and treaded water, I just smiled and the goofiness that was unfolding before me. My son would jump into the water, swim over to the ladder, climb out, and do it all over again, but each time he jumped off of the edge of the pool, he would yell out something different each and every time. He would yell out things like “look out!” or “WOAH!” And lots of other stuff that just made me smile. You see, that would never have happened last summer, and the fact that Willy was getting creative with his words, just made me beam with delight! I felt bad about not writing yesterday, but I really needed to spend some special time with my little love. He’s growing up so fast, and… well… I needed to take a break as well.

I’ve been thinking lately, that I need to take a short hiatus (vacation) for a week and just soak in the fact that I need to recharge my batteries as well. So as of this afternoon, I will be taking a week off from blogging. I need a break just as much as the next person, but when I return next Tuesday, I’ll be recharged, ready, and raring to go with a lot more to write about, and more funny anecdotes to share.

Take care my friends, and my the R&R be with you.

Leave a Reply

