Something to smile about


I got a phone call from the Program Director at Willy’s preschool this afternoon. She is a kind a lovely woman with a heart of gold, if you ask me. She wanted to tell me that it was a joy to get to know my son this summer, and that she’s never met anyone like him before.

Of course the first thought that flashed through my mind was “yeah right! I’ll bet!”

But she was 100% sincere, and then asked me to hold for a moment, because one of the teachers in his summer program wanted to speak with me.

I literally held my breath thinking the worst.

The next thing I hear is “hey Mrs. R! My name is J (a guy with an upbeat voice) and I just wanted to say that I absolutely adore your kid! He’s so funny and I was wondering if we could continue to visit each other during the school year, because he’s… he’s awesome!”

I was blown away! I did not expect to hear that. He then asked my permission for the program director to give him our address, and said that he’ll be in touch soon so he and Willy can play.

Ummmmm… WOW!!!!!

I honestly did not expect to hear that. I almost started crying on the phone with him, because it just blows my mind that someone else besides family and close friends, thinks that highly of him.

I probably thanked him a hundred times, just for being honest, true, and kind to my little boy. But I love the fact that a real relationship was built this summer by a highly motivated teenager/adult and an overly rambunctious five year old. The sad part is that I didn’t even know that J existed until today. He was never mentioned in the notes home, and Willy never told me about him when I asked who his teachers were.

It’s fine really. I’m just thrilled that my son made a connection with someone who genuinely likes him for who he is, all of his quirks, and all of his sheer awesomeness! Now to me, that makes for a good summer.

Thank you J! I can’t wait to meet you in person. πŸ˜€

20140731-182831-66511926.jpg

2 thoughts on “Something to smile about

Leave a Reply

