… say when…


WHEN! Uncle! I give! And my personal favorite, “stick a fork in me. I’m done!” Has been in my repertoire for the past two days. This weekend was ugly, and as unglamorous as tantrums can get, but my poor boy was the one to suffer the most.

We missed a birthday party on Saturday, because it would have been a sensory overloaded nightmare for him, so we decided to have a quiet family day, just the three of us, at the beach. But that didn’t go well either. He tantrumed. He caused a big scene, fought us physically, and made me wish that I had never gotten out of bed that morning. But we made it through with minimal scaring (emotionally). And we stayed at the beach for a good chunk of time afterwards. While we were there, Willy destroyed every sandcastle that I tried to make with him, but loved pretending that he was a giant dinosaur stomping on the sandy village. We also swam like fishes and jumped trough waves. So in retrospect, that was good, but Jason and I were still emotionally exhausted.

It was a tiring day, but we still spent it together as a family, and that was really nice.

Yesterday on the other hand, was a little different. Willy had another massive tantrum, more physical outbursts geared towards us this time, and lots of screaming and crying to go along with it. Jason and I still felt like we were recovering from yesterday’s storm, and did not feel physically and emotionally prepared for another one. But we survived this one as well. This time we had the help of my parents, and when one of us needed a break… the other one was there to switch off. THANK GOD!!!!

This was supposed to be my birthday weekend, and it really didn’t feel very birthday-like to me at all. I was lucky enough to have an incredible family gathering yesterday, and even Willy’s best girl E was there to join in on the fun, but sadly, my head was stuck somewhere else for a good chunk of the day yesterday.

I think I took a wrong turn and ended up in “resentmentville.” I hated it there. I really did. It wasn’t fun, the scenery sucked, and the people weren’t too friendly, but thank goodness for my fabulous friend J, her husband R, Willy’s best girl E, Jason, and my amazing family, for pulling me out of my rut. The delicious BBQ we had was amazing, and watching my boy swim about the pool with his best girl E was refreshing and relaxing. Having a good, healthy, dose of my family was exactly what I needed. They pulled me out of my rut, kept me balanced, and kept me laughing as well. Thanks family for the endless love and support.

This post is dedicated to my mom and dad: You guys are incredible, and I really don’t know where I’d be without your love and support. You push me to try harder, you push me to move forward, and you always push me in the right direction; where ever the wind takes me. Thank you ❤️

IMG_2313.JPG

5 thoughts on “… say when…

  1. Tough days for us always seem so crazy! I wish I could say it gets better as they get older, but I can’t. I just hold tight to the fact that my son knows I love him unconditionally and we fight through together! Willy knows the same of you!

Leave a Reply

