The park


IMG_2405.JPG
Today was one of those days that you know you need to get out of the house, but you have no idea what to do with yourself. I asked Willy if he wanted to go to the water park today, and all I got in return, was a big, fat, no! so I gave him other options, like going to a bouncy house place, a kiddie museum, or swimming, and he said “no” to all of them. So then I asked him what he wanted to do, and he thought about it for a while and then said “playground play place?”

JACKPOT!

“Great idea I said” and we headed out. Willy’s speech therapist told me about this great park/playground a while back, so we decided to try it.

When we arrived, it looked like kid heaven. Not only were there clean bathrooms available to the public, but this football field sized playground had a giant sand box, tons of swings, several climbing structures with slides, and a tented area with picnic tables so kids and parents could cool off!

WOO-HOO!

I let go of Willy’s hand and he set off towards a spider like structure. He tried and tried, but he just couldn’t get his body from one end of the spider to the other. He kept asking me for help, and I tried, but I really couldn’t help him. A nice girl offered to show him (she was clearly taller and older) how to do it, and after a few more tries, he did it!!!!!! He was so proud of himself, and so was I. We celebrated his success with a nice, cold, juice box under the tent.

And then he was off again.

I followed him to the sandbox where he played quietly with all kinds of dump trucks and diggers. It was such a beautiful day and moment, that I snapped this picture.

IMG_2404.JPG

And then… I heard this, “where’s your sister? Your supposed to be watching her!” I saw this woman when I walked into the playground, and she was just sitting under the tent with a friend not seeming to care about a whole hell of a lot. This raspy-voiced woman was taking away from my peaceful moment, so, I turned around and said, “she’s right here.” And I pointed to her. With out even a thank you, she grabbed her daughter and carried her out of the sandbox like a surfboard.

“Your welcome” I muttered to myself. And then I began to listen to other mothers around me. I heard things like, “do I have to count to three? And “say your sorry to the lady” and “oh thank god your not one of those mothers.” And my personal favorite
mom: hey guys? We’re leaving in 5 minutes. Kid: you said the a half hour ago! Mom: okay, make that 2 minutes. Kid: your so mean! Mom: I know (in a greedy voice).

I just kept watching my boy with that loving “summers almost over” kind of look, and then I realized that just about every mother around me was at their wits end with their kids. And, I get it! I completely understand where their coming from. I feel like that too sometimes, but I always kept in the back of my mind, that pretty soon, my son won’t want me around for much longer. He’ll want to play with friends and not me. He’ll want to go off with his friends and leave me in the dust. And then one day he’ll hopefully ask me for money so he can buy something cool.

You see where I’m going with this? I know that kids can be down right frustrating at times, but try to remember that the time you have with them now is precious, no matter how burnt out you are.

IMG_2364.PNG

2 thoughts on “The park

  1. Great reminder to just live in the moment. They are too few. This is the first year I haven’t been one of those moms, so ready to send her babies back to school.
    What an awesome playground!!!

Leave a Reply

