Transitioning


On Monday, I had the perfect idea for a post. I had gotten permission from a friend to use their daughter’s picture and everything, but as I edited the post one last time for good measure, the more I realized that shouldn’t post it… and then I deleted it.

I deleted it for a few reasons, but the main one, was the fear of pushing the envelope too far. As many of you know, I am pretty blunt here at Square Peg in a Round Hole, but sometimes even I know when to say “when.” So that’s what I did. I said “when.”

On a different and completely off topic note, have you ever seen the movie “Happy Feet?” My son is obsessed with it lately. And the more Willy and I watch it together, the more it bothers me. Now I know that Warner Bros. gives us (the viewer) a close look at nature in its finest, but the plot breaks my heart. A little penguin who hatches late, just doesn’t seem to fit in with his community, because he would rather dance than sing. His father, who insists that he fit in, tries to ignore his sons talent, but it’s his mother who embraces the fact that the little penguin is different, but he’s just as talented and special as the rest. So, the little penguin sets out to explore and find out what he’s made of, and if he can find true love.

It’s a sweet and touching story, but the little penguin had to endure quite a bit, just to be accepted in his own community. And that included risking his own life. It just depressed me a little. Now, I know it’s a kids movie, but it still sends the same message; you have to either be extraordinary in order to be accepted, or risk your life in order to be accepted. I mean, what kind of message does that send to kids? That if your different, you’ll have to really, really, really prove yourself in order to be accepted by others? I don’t think so!

So as Willy and I snuggled and watched Happy Feet, I looked right at him and said, “do you know how special you are?” He said “yeah.” So I said, “even though things can be hard for you sometimes, just trying your hardest is all you need to show that you care. And you don’t have to be the best at it, just trying is good enough.” He said, “okay,” smiled at me, and continued watching. I kissed him on his soft cheek and gave him a loving squeeze.

When Willy and I have moments like these, it makes me feel incredible. I know he understands everything that I’m saying to him, and now he’s using language to prove it. It’s just another step in the right direction for him, and yes… I teared up a little, and yes, my son looked at me and said “mommy’s happy” as I cry tears of joy. He knows me so well.

Happy hump day, ya’ll.

IMG_2609.PNG

2 thoughts on “Transitioning

  1. Thank you SO much for sharing. What a precious relationship you have with your sweetie. On a personal note, my husband acts as a great filter for me. When I feel that my post is “off,” I send it to him and he has always said, “Hmmm, that’s a little negative.” He’s a sweetie, too.

Leave a Reply

