Another new perspective


IMG_2753.PNG
Hi friends. I’m so excited to be back from a two week hiatus. As I take a step back and really examine my perspective on the world in which we live in, I’ve decided to add two new tags to this blog: “mental health” and “mental illness.” Both in which I’ve gotten to know on a first name basis lately.

According to to the Miriam Webster dictionary, the definition of “mental health” is as follows: noun A mental or bodily condition marked primarily sufficient disorganization of personality, mind, and emotions, to seriously impair the normal psychological functioning of the individual – called mental illness .

I can’t even begin to tell you how many things I find wrong with that definition, but the word “normal” just jumps right out there, like a slap in the face for me. You know what I mean? I personally prefer the word “typical” as opposed to the word “normal,” but I’m sure Ms. Webster and I would disagree slightly over that singular word, while we gingerly sip our tea and make small talk.

The reason why I am taking such care and interest in this particular subject matter, is because experiencing it firsthand, makes me realize how broken our system really is. As a mother of an almost five and a half year old, with a laundry list of disabilities, I feel like I need to make it my business, in order to make change happen. How exactly do I even begin to do this?

Your guess is as good as mine, but I expect it to begin with baby steps.

When it comes to the wants and needs of our children, we will do just about anything to help them get what they need or want. And of course that comes in many forms. It can disguise itself as a new toy, or dance lessons, or in many cases (sadly), health insurance. That’s right, I said health insurance. And the saddest part of all, is that some of them make you jump through hoop after hoop to weed out the weak. Now, if you’ve been with me long enough, you know that I do not like to talk about politics here, because
politics can get messy sometimes. Especially when it’s sparks a debate that I have absolutely no desire to follow through with, but let’s be real here. When the need is great enough, we will do what we can to get what we need to help our children’s lives be better. And by better, I mean beneficial.

Yep. That.

I’ve heard the statement “have you applied for “Mass Health yet?” more in the past week, then I’ve ever heard in my life. I’d like to say that I have pretty good health insurance and haven’t run into any problems or snags as of yet, but as our family needs change, so does my insurance needs. And that just gives me another new perspective into the wonderful world of health insurance.

Please, I beg you not to start a debate. I am on your side with this subject matter. It’s just excruciatingly eye-opening for me.

So, as I begin the process of becoming one of those who WILL NOT be “weeded out”, I leave you with this question. Is it really worth it? Is it really worth it to jump through hoops, endure heartbreak, mediation, making sure all of my “t’s”are crossed and “i’s” dotted? Is it really worth it to try and try until I reach my breaking point? Clearly I don’t like to be denied anything, but… is it worth it? You know what? For this face, I’d do anything.

IMG_2534.JPG

4 thoughts on “Another new perspective

  1. You’re a brave woman, you know that? Give yourself a pat on the back for understanding what your adorable boy needs. I mean, is there anyone cuter?? Hope that you can manage your way through the tangles. I have confidence that you will!

  2. Glad you’re back! I know what you mean, I’d do whatever it takes for my kiddos too, except when they don’t sleep! (only kidding!).
    I won’t even start about how much reform our mental health and developmental health system needs! Keep up the good work! We’ve jumped through so many hoops we should be in the circus, but again, like you, it’s totally worth it for my babies!

Leave a Reply

