Once I was blind, now I can see


I thought I knew my kid. I’m supposed to know my kid better than anyone else. Then why didn’t I see it?

I guess it’s true about what they say. It takes a fresh set of eyes to see that you can’t. It really does.

I’m referring to the Sensory Diet that my son seems to crave multiple times daily, but I guess as his mother, I either ignored the signs or assumed that he was just over active, because I just couldn’t bring myself to see it. Honestly. I was good at blaming all of the above. I blamed his ADHD/Autism. I blamed his anxiety disorder, and just about everything else under the sun. But I needed to open my eyes and see.

I needed to really, really see.

If your not entirely clear about what a sensory diet is, it’s a combination of activities that stimulate the five senses; it brings attention back to your body. It makes you more aware of your body in “space” while stimulating your mind/consciousness. Got it?

Willy receives OT (occupational therapy) once a week at school, mainly for fine tuning some already acquired skills, like his pencil grip, his posture while sitting, and a few other things. But, nobody ever mentioned a sensory diet until recently. For whatever reason I always thought that he had just gotten it as part of his OT regime.

Clearly I was mistaken.

Because of my sons anxiety disorder, he now requires the assistance of a weighted vest (twice daily), “heavy work” twice daily for joint attention, and making sure that his other sensory needs are being met at least once daily.

And the best part is, I’ve already started to notice a drastic change in my boy. He seems calmer, more aware of himself, spatial awareness, and his willingness to venture out and try new things. Hum… what do ya know.

Like I said, I thought I knew my kid. I thought I knew him well enough to know his wants and needs. But as I’m figuring out, my sons wants and needs change just as much is the seasons do. Sometimes what works one day doesn’t always work the next, and I need to do a better job of recognizing that. I also need to do a better job at relinquishing some of my control issues that I clearly seem to be harboring. I have to remind myself that it’s okay to let go. It’s okay to let someone else take over. It’s okay to ask for help more often than not, and it’s really okay to lean on those that I need most, because they clearly see what do do not.

As i’ve been saying, “once I was blind but now I can see. ” I really can see.

IMG_1061.JPG

Leave a Reply

