Sometimes change is a double edged sword


Change: verb, 1. to make or become different. 2. Take or use another instead of.

Change. Change. Change.

Our little family is going through a lot of it lately; some good, some not so good, but in the end… oh screw it! There once was a light at the end of the tunnel, but now there is so much uncertainty that I just can’t see it at the moment.

I used to not be a fan of change, because change was different. Change was uncomfortable and sometimes scary. But now it seems more like an adventure to me, mainly because theres just so dam much of it going on, that seeing the sunny side of things just seems like the right thing to do. And if I don’t (see the sunny side), things will spiral out of control. I can’t let that happen.

My son is experiencing the brunt of it at the moment, but then again… so is my husband. I thought that by altering my job and schedule would help shed some light, but it only made things more hectic, so to speak. So I’ll try again.

I can’t let change get the better of me.

But on the other hand, change mixes things up. It makes you see things in a different light. It gets your blood pumping. I once read somewhere that it takes 13 days for your body to emotionally and mentally be able to except change, so it becomes like “old hat again.” 13 days is a long time considering your “normal” or routine. For example, The thought of adding some random after school activity for my son just makes me want to cringe, because right now, we have our routine just the way I like it. But if I did add an extra activity, it would most likely make my son happier, in which makes me happier in return.

See? Not all change is bad.

In a perfect world, I would whip out my crystal ball and read my future, and make decisions based on that. But since I don’t have a crystal ball or a time machine (with a flux capacitor), I have to rely on myself to make the right decisions in the moment that feels right to me. Now I know that it can be sticky and scary at times (change), but rolling with the punches just seems like the right thing to do. You know?

So maybe it’ll all work out in the end, and maybe some more fine-tuning needs to take place, but I must remember this: I am a smart and responsible woman who has the power to change things for the better. I have the support and love of my family, the support and love of my husband, and beautiful child, who with time, will learn and understand the power of change. He’ll he’ll learn that change can be a good thing as well as an uncomfortable thing at times, but with more life experience and support we’ll all be just fine in the end. We will see and shed light at the end of our tunnels.

IMG_1225.JPG
Willy and his best girl E. This is one of my favorite pictures.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes change is a double edged sword

  1. Uncertainty and change are so hard, aren’t they? I’m reading a book right now that says to couch uncertainty as wonder. Sounds like semantics but I’ve been trying it and it works thus far. A lot of “I wonder what will happen next” . . .

Leave a Reply

