Happy Halloween


Since today is a little hectic for me, and being Halloween and all, I certainly didn’t want to leave you high and dry. So, here’s my take on Halloween. Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays, but more so now than ever, I just love seeing all of the kids in their costumes and hearing about their trick-or-treating adventures. But best of all… I love hearing the parents take on all of it. I remember when I was a kid, a sweet, old couple down the street from me, used to make all of the kids in the neighborhood, homemade candy apples. The couple used to always take such special care to add pretty little details to the candy apples as well, like spelling out our names in M&M’s for instance. And when I would come bounding home to show my parents all of the treats that I got, they would always take the candy apple away from me first.

And every year, I was crushed.

My dad used to tell me that unwrapped treats had the potential of being “dangerous,” but I could never believe that such a sweet old couple would ever do such a thing like that OR, that they would have the capabilities of hurting kids! Yes, thats how my eight year old brain worked back then. So I handed it over, counted my candy, ate a few pieces, and then was sent off to brush my teeth, and then bed.

But now, it’s just as much fun for the parents to go trick-or-treating with their kids, because at some houses, they get “treats” as well. But theirs is more of the libation kind, if you know what I mean. I’ve “heard” through the parent grape-vine, that some houses give candy to the kids and jell-o shots to the parents. NICE! I duly noted to remember that house for future references (wink-wink, nudge-nudge). Some houses give out beer and wine to the parents as well. LOL!

I have to laugh out loud over that one, because trick-or-treating is not exactly painful. It’s supposed to be fun and put a smile on your face, but I guess after an hour or three, you just need a pick-me-up, and not of the sugary kind, you know? But I do look forward to hearing your stories of trick-or-treating with your kids, if you feel like sharing. I want to know the good, the bad, and the ugly. 🙂
HAPPY HALLOWEEN everyone. Stay safe and have fun.

4 thoughts on “Happy Halloween

  1. I ended up celebrating Halloween much more often as an adult, thanks to the fact that my wife was born on that particular day, and so for the 14 years that we managed to survive as a married couple (these days we’re just really good friends), every Halloween consisted of a combination Halloween/birthday party complete with a bunch of inebriated adults in often r-rated costumes answering my front door to terrify the neighborhood kids who had disobeyed their parents yet again just to see what kind of nut-bar was going to hand out the candy at my very well-known house. Lol. Believe it or not, it’s one of the happier memories that I have of my past, and no friends, children, or Halloween monsters were ever injured in the making of those recollections. Happy Halloween everyone.

Leave a Reply

