Daylight savings time is a joke… right?


For those of you who are not familiar with daylight savings time, let me shed some “light” on it for you. Benjamin Franklin once said, “that the purpose of daylight savings time, is to make better use of daylight. We change our clocks during the summer months ahead, to remove an hour of daylight from the morning, to the evening.” And vice versa in the winter months (he didn’t say that part. I did). It makes sense if you were a farming Family back in the 1800s, but here in 2014, all I see backlash. Let me break it down for you.

Through The years, I’ve had different views about daylight savings time. For instance, when I was a kid, I looked at it as less time to play outside, and it was always dark when I had to wake up in the morning and go to school. I thought my mom was going to kill me. When I was a teenager, it was a blessing to be able to sleep in an extra hour (which was totally acceptable), and go to bed that night feeling well rested after a relaxing day of probably not doing much. When I was a young adult, I looked at daylight savings time, as an extra hour in my day to get things done. Thank you mother nature! I needed that. But now as a parent… there are no words.

IMG_2845-0.PNG
Kids just don’t understand the true value of gaining an extra hour of sleep, but once their little body clocks reset themselves, eons later, they’ll have to go through it again! They’ll actually loose an hour of sleep in the spring… and the vicious cycle starts all over again.

Are you following me here?

Now I don’t know about you, but my body has always been extremely time sensitive. I am the kind of person that always wears a watch, even on vacations, because for whatever reason, needing to know the time give me a sense of control. And God for bid I go anywhere that has a time change in a different time zone… it screws me up royally.

As a family, the three of us went to Hawaii a few years ago to visit my husbands family. For us it was a six hour time difference. We went from Eastern standard time, to Pacific time. I had done a little research before the trip on how to adjust my son to the time difference, so we all weren’t walking zombies when we got there, but surprisingly enough, Willy did a great job adjusting to the time change. When we arrived, he was so excited to see his cousin and play with new toys, that his exhaustion had gone completely out the window.

I couldn’t of asked for a better transition! Woo hoo!

But coming home was a different story. In our area we were preparing for a huge hurricane, and had to cut our trip short by one day. Our plane landed promptly at 9 AM, Eastern standard time, and all Willy wanted to do was go to sleep when we got home… and so did I. We were all just exhausted from the trip, so I let him. We all fell asleep immediately, and waking up four hours later, I knew that I had to get Willy up and get his body readjusted to our time zone.

OH. MY. GOD!

It was like waking up an angry giant. When my husband called me from the grocery store to ask if we needed anything else to prepare for the hurricane, I asked him to pick me up some patients, because I was losing mine fast. It took days for all of us to readjust our body clocks to Eastern standard time. And now that we all “fell back” just one hour, I feel like I’m readjusting to a six hour
time change all over again.

It’s the craziest feeling.

So, I’ll leave you this cartoon, because I’m sure we all felt like this yesterday morning and most likely this morning as well. Happy Monday everyone.

IMG_2849.PNG

Leave a Reply

