Something completely new


Editors note: I am going to embark on a new topic that is rarely discussed and most likely controversial with some debate. Please know that this topic is as new to me as it is to you, so please have some patience with me here. And as a gentle reminder, I don’t tolerate the judgement of others here at all, (you should know that by now) and your comments will be deleted if necessary. Of course I want to hear what you have to say, so please be kind to one another… and here we go

Cannabis
ˈkanəbəs/Submit
noun

a tall plant with a stiff upright stem, divided serrated leaves, and glandular hairs. It is used to produce hemp fiber and as a psychotropic drug.
a dried preparation of the flowering tops or other parts of this plant, or a resinous extract of it ( cannabis resin ), used (generally illegally) as a psychotropic drug, chiefly in cigarettes.
Origin
from Latin, from Greek kannabis .
Translate cannabis to
Use over time for: cannabis

A friend recently sent me an article on cannabis and children. In a nutshell, it basically stated that some doctors are starting to prescribe cannabis to children with ADHD, anxiety disorders, Autism, and mood disorders. Why? Because cannabis is calming. Cannabis is also organic, but this kind of cannabis is generated in a lab, to remove the “effects” that get you… you know… high. Cannabis is also gentler on your neurosystem then the prescriptions prescribed by your child’s doctor.

When you look back on the history of cannabis, and what you think you know from personal experience, you think about the “unsavory” models of our society that give marihuana a bad name. You may also think about how cannabis can be used in patients that are sick and in an immense amount of chronic pain, due to illness. But what a lot of people don’t know about cannabis, is that the lasting effects are a lot better on your body than prescribed medication.

If you ask a middle schooler how their medication makes them feel, i.e: side effects, they may tell you that they don’t have much of an appetite and barely eat. Their sleep cycles are disturbed, and they feel sluggish and foggy a good portion of the time. “Put simply, the compounds found in cannabis, called cannabinoids, could potentially correct the dopamine deficiency observed in ADD/ADHD patients if dosed appropriately and administered safely. Even in its raw form, cannabis is able to provide the mental slowdown necessary for concentration in many patients.” – Dr. David Bearman

http://www.leafly.com/knowledge-center/medical-resources/cannabis-and-addadhd

But obtaining cannabis for ADD/ADHD purposes is no easy feat, nor should it be. The hoops that you have to jump through are plenty, and how do I know this you may ask? I recently took a trip to a cannabis office located in my town on Monday, and as I sat in the waiting room, I discreetly took a little look around to see who was amongst the crowd. Sadly it looked like very sick people, just looking for a little comfort, and hoping to improve their quality of life. I didn’t see any children if you were wondering. When I was called, I explained to the woman what my situation was, and she literally told me (in a robotic voice) to visit my city’s government website and follow the directions accordingly.

“That’s it?” I asked. “That’s it.” she said

I don’t know what I was expecting, but I think I was expecting a lot more to happen then listening to someone just giving me a stinking website! I didn’t have to wait too long in the waiting room, and the receptionist was very nice, but still. A website?! Oy!

“But if the idea of prescribing pot to minors seems counterintuitive, it might be worth considering that Ritalin and Aderall, two of the most commonly prescribed medications for ADHD, are essentially amphetamines. And Hinshaw said hundreds of studies show that in low dosages, amphetamines are an effective treatment for ADHD.” -Hinshaw

http://www.thehealthcure.org/2013/04/marijuana-prescribed-to-kids-with-adhd/

In the two articles that I provided for you, it doesn’t say anywhere how the child will ingest the cannabis once it is prescribed. Clearly the child is not going to “smoke up,” but it obviously comes and other forms. Cannabis comes in pill form, oil droplets, candy, cookies, brownies, dried fruit, etc., remember, obtaining cannabis is not easy. If this is something that you think could really help your child, please speak with your child’s pediatrician first. There are a lot of steps that you must go through and a lot of hoops that you’ll have to jump through. I personally do not know anyone that has done this for their child, but I would love to hear what he or she has to say if they are on this journey. If you know anyone that could benefit from cannabis, please share this article with them. I would love to hear your comments about this, but please remember to keep it clean and respectful. Thank you.

2015/01/img_3484.png

6 thoughts on “Something completely new

  1. Interesting! Seriously I had no idea…
    I’m always looking for the most natural, healthy, simple way to treat everything from a cold to more serious things. My son is too little (2yrs) for most/any medications except those prescribed (although all he takes at the moment is a multi and an extra heavy dose of B12 for his metabolic disorder). I myself have always gone to a naturopath and tried to find a more holistic path for most of my own health issues. Some things obviously the naturopath can’t help me with.
    I wonder if the response you got is because of the state you live in?
    *I have no idea which state you’re in, but we live in a state that Marijuana has been legalized.
    This is all food for thought….thank you!!

Leave a Reply

