“Well it just goes to show you, it’s always something!”


IMG_3809
Gilda Radner as Roseanne Roseannadanna from Saturday Night Live (SNL)

You know, if I was to resemble an iconic TV character… I think it would be her. Roseanne Roseannadanna! To begin with, I look an awful lot like her, especially when I wake up every morning. For starters, my hair is huge and it takes on a life of its own. “My back hurts, my nose is stuffy, my head, hurts, my breath stinks, my feet are swollen, I’m constipated, I have heart burn, I’m cranky, and I have gas!” Okay, maybe I’m embellishing on several of these… or am I? But the point that I’m trying to make is, THERES ALWAYS SOMETHING!
There. I’ll say it again… theres always something!

Last night as I was driving home with my little man in the backseat, I had a vision.

I spent the day at my parents house and I had forgotten to bring Willy’s ADHD meds with me, so we were pretty much riding on fumes, if you know what I mean. I had driven both of my grandmothers home and while we were in transit, Willy was happily singing his favorite song out loud for all to hear. He was singing the ABC song. My grandmothers were laughing and clapping and having a wonderful time with him, and I just couldn’t stop smiling. But then I had my vision. I’m fairly certain that most kids Willy’s age aren’t singing their ABC’s with such feeling and vivacity. Their singing other things like Taylor Swift or Kanye West songs, etc. there also thinking about Minecraft and monster trucks. Am I right here? I have visions that my little man is going to be 40-year-old frat boy someday, and I that just made me sad.

And then I let myself go to the “dark side” with my thoughts, and I actually cried a little when nobody was watching. So I did what most girls do when they’re in a crisis. They call the funniest person that they know to turn their frown upside down. And BOY did she deliver! She reassured me that her little boy has his moments of immaturity too, so it’s really okay for me to think the way that I was. She told me that her little boy prefers to watch Caillou on TV and he’s only a year older than Willy. So there’s nothing really wrong with loving the ABC song now is there? Okay… I’m feeling better now.

And then we laughed. OOOOOHHHH did we laugh!! About what? I’m not telling, but I will say this. I am so lucky to have the support system that I have, because without my friends and family, I have absolutely no idea where I would be right now. I’m actually still chuckling over our conversation, and my smile is certainly not fading yet.

But it is depressing to me about how immature my boy is, compared to most children his age. The thing about Willy is, is that he LOVES to play. He loves his toys, his favorite stuffed animals, his favorite tv shows, his friends, and best of all, he loves his mom and dad. But he scripts while he plays, he is rigged with how he plays and who he lets play with him. And, God forbid we try to intervene with our own agenda of “play,” he gets upset with us and will sometimes get up and leave.

And that still stings a little.

Buuuuuuut, I know that his play skills will serve him well in the not-too-distant future, and that gives me hope. I have to keep remembering that my little boys is still a little boy, and maturity isn’t exactly what we’re looking for as of yet. I wonder what Roseanne Roseannadanna would think about this? She’d probably say something like: http://youtu.be/b5BKAaZrqgE
Enjoy this 25 second clip

One thought on ““Well it just goes to show you, it’s always something!”

  1. That IS a funny clip. I assure you that after I teach something like “Days in the months” or “What’s the weather like today?” I am singing that cute tune all day. Move over, Willie.

Leave a Reply

