What’s in a picture?


Hi everyone. How was your weekend? I hope it was relaxing. My weekend was busy, but I did want to share a small moment with you. A moment that means so much to me, and you’ll see why.  

 

Before I tell you about this picture, I want you to take a quick look at the smiles on these beautiful faces. The three of them just melt my heart.   

When I snapped this picture, a game of “hide-and-go-seek” was taking place. They were burying a little toy in the sand, and then they would look furiously for it. Once it was found, the three would jump for joy and give each other high fives. It was a beautiful sight. 

Behind the camera, my eyes were welling up with tears. Also, I was trying not to hover. I was close by, but far enough away to give my boy a sense of independence. 

As my husband and I switched off, I sank into a lawn chair and was told by a friend how big my son gotten since the last time she saw him. She knows that Willy has Autism, and was so pleased to see his progress. She’s so sweet. I told her that I too was proud of my boy, but that I was also being cautiously optimistic. I told her that even though everything was going ridiculously well, it could turn ugly at any moment.

 I was serious about that. 

All it takes is for someone to take Willy’s toy or for him to want something that someone else has… and then things get ugly. 

That’s why I hover. 

I hate hovering. I feel like a helicopter. 

But today was different. As much as Jason and I hovered, Willy didn’t seem to notice that we were even there. That’s how much fun he was having. So Jason and I took a step back. We watched Willy share the water table, the toys in the sandbox, run through the sprinkler, take turn after turn without a problem, play an imaginary pirate game, and so much more. He even roasted a marshmallow with his little friends. 

I felt like I was on cloud 9. 

All day long I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop… but it never did. His little friends were amazing, and watching the three of them play together, well… it made me want to cry. That’s how proud I was of him on Sunday! 

Maybe it was a sign. I believe in signs. Maybe this is Willy finally showing us that he can be trusted. Now don’t get me wrong, i’m still going to hover, but maybe I can hang back just a little. Well… we shall see.  

 

Leave a Reply

