Parent Warriors


Parent/noun

1.A person or people in relation to a child or children. Synonyms: mother or father, materfamilias, matriarch, patriarch; More

Warrior/noun

1.(especially in former times) A brave or experienced soldier or fighter. Synonyms: fighter, soldier, serviceman, combatant, mercenary

“fearsome warriors”

When we put it together, we get this: 

Parent Warrior/noun

1. A human in relation to a child or children who is a brave and experienced fighter. 

And you know what I say to that? RIGHT ON! HEAR ME ROAR!

When we signed up for this journey, I bet we never imagined in our wildest dreams that we’d end up here some day. Am I right?

Can I get an “Amen?” 

It never occurred to me that as a parent,  I would have to learn the in’s and out’s of my own child’s IEP. I would have to fight for out of district placement, have the patience of GOD, and I would have to learn to look at things from my son’s point of view. I would learn how to be a bossy-pants when I need to get things accomplished with our insurance company. And I wold have to become Gumby (flexible) when it came to just about everything else under the sun. 

I am a mother warrior!

My husband would learn quickly that most things will become a challeng when it came to our son. He would learn that managing our son by himself would become an even greater challenge. He would learn the true meaning of heart ache and heartbreak, but he would also learn what true love really is, and how much he could honestly love another human being that shares his DNA. 

Jason is a father warrior!

Together, we (Jason and I) are better people because of our child. We know what hard work and determination can do, and we know that if one of us is struggling, even just a little, our fairly sturdy house of cards might fall. We’ve had absolutely wonderful times together as a family thus far; filled with joy and laughter, and we’ve also had horrible times together as well. Times that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy x 1000. 

Together we are parent warriors. 

There are all kinds of families out there who are struggling every day just to get through it. Some of them take their lives day by day, and others take it hour by hour. But my hope is that these families have support (emotionally, mentally, and physically). Disabilities come in all shapes and sizes, and so do warriors. 

I actually find the Katy Perry song “Roar” pretty inspiring. Read her lyrics. I think she might be onto something here   

Katy Perry – Roar

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath. Scared to rock the boat and make a mess. So I sat quietly, agreed politely. I guess I forgot I had a choice. I let you push me past the breaking point. I stood for nothing, so I fell for everything. 

You held me down, but I got up (hey!) Already brushing off the dust. You hear my voice, your hear that sound. Like thunder, gonna shake the ground. You held me down, but I got up! Get ready ’cause I had enough. I see it all, I see it now. 

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter
Dancing through the fire

‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar!

Louder, louder than a lion

‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar!

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh.Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh.

You’re gonna hear me roar!

Now I’m floating like a butterfly. Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes. I went from zero, to my own hero. 

You held me down, but I got up (hey!) Already brushing off the dust. You hear my voice, your hear that sound. Like thunder, gonna shake the ground. You held me down, but I got up. Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough. I see it all, I see it now. 

I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter
Dancing through the fire

‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar

Louder, louder than a lion

‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar!

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. 

You’re gonna hear me roar!

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. 

You’re gonna hear me roar!

Roar, roar, roar, roar, roar!
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter! Dancing through the fire!’Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar! Louder, louder than a lion! ‘Cause I am a champion, and you’re gonna hear me roar!

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. 

You’re gonna hear me roar!

Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh oh. 

You’re gonna hear me roar! 

 willy is roaring in this picture!

2 thoughts on “Parent Warriors

Leave a Reply

