Taking a look back


Fairly recently, I was looking through pictures of Willy when was a baby. 

My goodness he was beautiful! I mean, look at those eyelashes. 

 Willy is six months old in this picture. He was such a happy baby too, and even at six months, I always kept in the back of my mind that he just might be my one and only. So I savored every moment I had with him. I savored every snuggle, every smile, and every first. He was my whole world!

 At 18 months, I noticed that there was definitely something different about him. I couldn’t exactly put my finger on it, but… he was always so happy and smiling. I remember my friends warned me about the terrible two’s, but I remember not having an issue with the two’s. It was the three’s that sucked! But I still worried. 

 On this day, Willy turned three. And this was also the day that I swear that he sold his soul to the devil. I’m really not kidding when I say that. On this day, he woke up from his nap right before his third birthday party, and our lives haven’t been the same since. He woke up crabby! Angry! He didn’t want anything, and nobody’s comfort was any help to him. It was like he had a permanent attitude problem… and it made me worry even more. I needed to do something. 

This is also when all of the doctors appointments started. Willy was refusing to eat, his speech was falling behind significantly, and he just wasn’t the happy-go-lucky kid that he once was.  

 At four, things started to look up. He started preschool and got his diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder. He was receiving speech at home and at school. He seemed happy again. My heart sang.  

  At five, Willy’s sense of humor skyrocketed! He discovered that there was more to the world than Bubble Guppies and Elmo. He switched schools, was making new friends, and told me for the first time (independently) that he loved me.  

 At six, he became brave. Trying new things took a little coaxing, but he did it! He became a little less rigid, and a little more trusting. He’s had one speech explosion after another, and is now learning how to ride a bicycle. I LOVE my little man more and more everyday, and the pride that he exhibits when he competes a puzzle or tries a new food, make me feel like he’s going make it in this world. 

It’s tough being a kid… Especially one with a disability, but you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way. Willy is learning so much and is my happy-go-lucky boy once again. 

 

5 thoughts on “Taking a look back

Leave a Reply

