Everything is Everything!


When I got home from work yesterday, I came home to this.  
 Willy is learning how to walk his dog! He was holding the leash tightly in his hand, and saying “let’s go, doggy!” In the sweetest little voice. The phrase “let’s go” is one of the commands that Everest is learning. 

Our home therapist, Susie was keeping a watchful eye on both of them, but the part that really made me smile, was my son showing Everest (the dog) how to cross the street, by looking both ways. 

I was jumping for joy on the other side of the street. 

Willy and Everest have a beautiful bond already and I can already see the magical effect that Everest has on his boy. Willy seems happier. He seems willing to try new things as long as Everest is by his side, and the “calm” that Everest brings to my son is indescribable.  

At one point, I was worried that I was making the wrong decision by getting a service dog for our son.  There were SO MANY PEOPLE out there that had needs much greater than ours, and it bothered me that our “dog” could’ve gone to someone who needed him more than we did. 

But then I stopped and took a look around. 

We are that family in need! Our son was in need of a calming influence that would help ease his anxiety, help him to focus more, because severe ADHD is nothing to joke about, and to help guide him through his day-to-day with little less to worry about, because meltdowns… well… meltdowns SUCK! 

Yesterday, a friend asked me how how it’s going with the dog, and I said “everything is everything!” Meaning that life is good. No, not good. LIFE IS GREAT! Willy and Everest have a very long way to go together, but at least they have each other to lean on throughout their entire journey as best friends. 

Have a great day everyone. 

For more information about service dogs, please visit http://www.caninesforkids.org   or http://www.americanpoodlesatwork.org

6 thoughts on “Everything is Everything!

Leave a Reply

