“A” words are not dirty words. 


Last week, I was asked to weigh in on this discussion.   

  When I’m not blogging, I’m an administrator for a family friendly website called “ADHD Kids Care Support. It’s a support sight for families of children struggling with ADD/ADHD, and other disabilities, like ODD, etc. There are so many families out there that need support, and we start and supervise discussions, post articles, and answer as many questions as we can. 

To me, it’s a brilliant way to give back. 

My response was this:  

 Before I added my two cents, I brought myself back a couple years ago to when we were having our son diagnosed. And it was true, even back then. We saw three doctors, got three different diagnosis, and at the time… I didn’t want to stop until I got one that I could live with. 

And what’s also true, was hearing that my child had crippling ADHD, sat a lot nicer than hearing that my son had Autism. I could live with ADHD. At that time I didn’t feel like I could live with Autism. Autism sounded like such a dirty word. 

And after trying countless medications to try and curb my son’s impulses and hyperactivity, I started to feel that ADHD was just as dirty. 

I felt so alone in all of this. 

And then one day (a year and a half later) I was having a conversation with a good friend of mine, and the word autism fell out of my mouth like it was nothing. Like it was old hat. I stopped midsentence and clasped both hands over my mouth, like I just said the worst thing that you could possibly say to someone. 

My eyes welled up with tears. 

In that moment I had come to terms with my sons disability(s). And it felt good. My friend just smiled at me, because she knew the whole time, but she had to wait for me to come to terms with it before she could say it out loud as well. 

And after a while, ADHD, and Autism didn’t feel so dirty to me anymore. And neither did his newest diagnosis, Anxiety. 

You know, it’s funny. My child is afflicted with three very different disorders, but comes out smiling at the end of the day. And the lesson that I’ve learned throughout all of this, is that, it doesn’t matter how many diagnosis your child may have or how badly you feel about yourself for having a disabled child, because believe me… I DID. It about raising a happy and confident child, who feels comfortable in their own skin and who has the identity of knowing who they are and what they can do with it! 

Can I get an “AMEN!”

  Willy being silly

Have a great day everyone. 

Today’s post is dedicated to an AMAZING mom who needs a little bit of spring in her step today. Lou Lou, you are fantastic! this one’s for you. 

2 thoughts on ““A” words are not dirty words. 

Leave a Reply

