Understanding, respect, and reassurance


When Jason and I got married almost 9 years ago, his cousin Libby saying this song at our wedding. To me at the time, it was about love. Now, I see that it’s A LOT MORE about love. It’s about understanding, respect, and reassurance. 

TRACY CHAPMAN LYRICS

“The Promise”

If you wait for me. Then I’ll come for you. Although I’ve traveled far. I always hold a place for you in my heart

If you think of me. If you miss me once in awhile. Then I’ll return to you. I’ll return and fill that space in your heart. 

Remembering

Your touch

Your kiss

Your warm embrace

I’ll find my way back to you

If you’ll be waiting. 

If you dream of me. Like I dream of you. In a place that’s warm and dark. In a place where I can feel the beating of your heart. 
Remembering

Your touch

Your kiss

Your warm embrace

I’ll find my way back to you

If you’ll be waiting. 

I’ve longed for you. And I have desired. To see your face your smile. To be with you wherever you are. 

Remembering

Your touch

Your kiss

Your warm embrace

I’ll find my way back to you

Please say you’ll be waiting 

Together again. It would feel so good to be in your arms. Where all my journeys end. If you can make a promise. If it’s one that you can keep. I vow to come for you. If you wait for me

And say you’ll hold. 

A place for me in your heart.

A place for me in your heart. [3x]

In the span of a week, I’ve had a friend bury a child, and I know a women who has to bury her husband. My mind is consumed with emotion, but it’s also a chance for me to reflect on how lucky I truly am. There is so much despair and loss happening to far too many people, and when emotions take over, we don’t always know how to help people grieve, and we have a hard time handling it. So, you know what I say? Hold a special place in your heart for the ones that you truly love, and remind yourself every now and again, that with life… comes death. That with loss, comes truth, and with love… comes happiness, good fortune, content, and joy.  

 

2 thoughts on “Understanding, respect, and reassurance

  1. Jill – your writing is absolutely wonderful and that photo of your amazing son with his dog is a prize winner…….Love from Evelyn and Sid\

Leave a Reply

