Tricks or Treats


My boy LOVES Halloween! If he had it his way, every day would be Halloween, I’m sure. From the moment the month October arrived, Willy has been singing Halloween songs, watching YouTube videos, and aching to get dressed up for trick-or-treating.

 Well, Saturday was his lucky day!

For the past week, I’ve been trying to prepare my boy for what we do on Halloween, and I literally give him a play-by-play of what happens. This was the makeshift schedule that I made for him on Saturday:

1. Eat dinner 2. Go potty 3. Get dressed in your costume 4. Take a picture 5. Practice saying trick-or-treat

Willy was so excited that he could barely contain himself! And I should probably tell you, that it’s not the candy that he’s after on Halloween. It’s the fact that he gets to get dressed up, and ring random peoples doorbells so he can look inside their houses. I’m really not kidding. 

Once we were all set to go, I had to remind him that when we ring someone’s doorbell, we wait for them to open the door, say trick-or-treat, take one piece of candy, and say “thank you” and “goodbye.” I made sure to tell him that going into other peoples homes is not an option. I admit that it sounds funny when I say it out loud, but I still don’t know a lot of people in my neighborhood yet, so having my autistic son walk into their home makes me a little nervous. 

I know I’m not alone in this. 

So first, this happened.  

 Such a handsome robot, huh?

Then this 

 Ding dong!

 “Tricks-or-Treats!” He said.  

 Pumpkins are cool!

I made sure that I lowered my expectations before going trick-or-treating with my son, because I didn’t want to set myself up for emotional failure. Because for me, that’s the worst. I told myself beforehand, that it didn’t matter if we hit 2 houses or 20 houses… as long as Willy was having fun, that was all that mattered. AND BOY DID HE EVER!

A few houses on a side street away, had gone all out on decorations. They had spooky music playing, inflatable decorations galore, and even the people answering the door were dressed up as well. Willy couldn’t get enough of those houses! We even went to visit a friend of mine who was having a party in her backyard. She invited us to stay for a little while, but Willy insisted that we keep going. And I was all for it. 

Willy lasted for about an hour and 15 minutes. He was tired at the very end, and we had some more walking to do, so we called it quits. He loved pointing out to me all of the costumes that he saw, but his favorite costume was on a 10-year-old girl. She was dressed up as a witch, and Willy kept yelling to her, “excuse me… Miss. Witch!” The girl turned around, and Willy just jumped up and down with excitement. “A witch, a witch!” He exclaimed over and over again. 

I honestly think that was his favorite part of Halloween this year. Seeing a witch. 

When we got home, Willy abandoned his candy bag and went right to his playroom. I could hear him singing his favorite Halloween song to the dog, and Jason and I high-fived, because this was yet another positive experience for our boy. This really could have been an epic fail on so many levels, but I couldn’t be more proud of him. And even when he was scared, he used his words to tell me that he didn’t want to go to a certain house, because it was “too spooky.”

I think I’m still basking in the glow of success!

I hope everyone had a great Halloween with their kids. And even if Halloween isn’t your thing, I hope you had a great night anyway.

Till tomorrow  

 I made his costume, with a little bit of help from a friend. He looks GREAT!!!! 

Leave a Reply

