He’s growing up!!


You see this? 

 
This is my boy’s homework! That’s exactly right. I said homework. Call me crazy, but I never thought that I would see the day that my son would bring homework home from school. 

I always assumed… yes, yes. I know. Never assume anything, because you only make an “ass out of u and me” that my son would never bring home homework. Why did I think that? Because I didn’t think that his school did that sort of thing. Homework. Ha! That word almost sounds foreign to me. 

Willy is a first grader at a private therapeutic school, where they focus more on your state of mind, when the going gets tough. And the tough gets going when your body and mind are focused and ready. It really is as good as it sounds. 

On Tuesday, a note came home from his teacher stating that Mondays and Wednesdays homework would  focus on reading and spelling, and Tuesdays and Thursdays would focus more on mathematics. I stood there stunned with my mouth open wide. I think I was still in shock that the word “homework” was still hanging in the air. 

But also, I honestly didn’t think that my son could handle homework. Willy works so hard trying to keep it together on most days, that bringing school work back into the home, would cause a ripple effect. You know what I mean? So last night, I looked at our home therapist, and I asked her honestly… “do you think that Willy can handle this?” And she never even hesitated. “Absolutely!” she said. 

And they sat down together at the kitchen table, and Willy traced his letters. 

I still maintain, that if Willy was still in his public school (sub-separate) classroom, I really don’t think that he would be able to do the things that he’s doing today. Right now, my boy can write his first name and part of his last name in age-appropriate, legible in size and in sight, letters. He can write his numbers, is doing simple addition, is learning to read, and so much more. I think that if he was in his public school classroom, he’d be stuck in a major rutt. Doing discrete trials was never his thing. He would get frustrated after the third trial, and tantrum. His current school recognizes his talents and builds on them. His teacher is absolutely wonderful and my son adores her. 

I think I just need to face the fact, that my son is growing up, and at school, they don’t treat him like he has special needs. They treat him like a little boy who is in the first grade, and is blossoming. And I love it!  

 

6 thoughts on “He’s growing up!!

  1. My little boy is 4 and he has special needs. He has a speech and language delay and is being referred for possible autism. He is currently in a public school. He came home with his first reading book this week so I know how you feel. Lovely post! X

  2. Such an inspirational post. So happy for you and your little guy. And, he’s also cute as all get out!!!!!! His future looks bright! I wish you both the very best on your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

