A “sweet”story


Hi everyone. Last week I took a break from writing, and now I’m back!!! How are you all? Did you have a nice week last week? 

I wanted to start off this week with a “sweet” story for you. 

When Willy started home services 10 months ago, one of our home goals was to have Willy play a game with us independently; whether it be a boardgame, cards, a memory game, etc. For a lot of kids, it’s next to impossible. For my kid… it’s a very tall order. 

Well, last night we were finishing dinner at my parents house, when Willy brought the boardgame “Candy Land” into the kitchen. We have that game at home, but really, he just likes to play with the game pieces and line them up and change their patterns. EditEdit

He hands me the game and asks me to open the box (it was still brand-new and in the cellophane wrapping).

Both of my grandmothers were sitting at the kitchen table as well, so I made a deal with him. “If you play one game with me and your great-grandmothers, you can play with the game pieces afterwards. Is that a deal?”  “DEAL!” He shouted, and started jumping up and down, so I went ahead and opened the box. 

Right away, he started reaching for the game pieces. I stopped him and reminded him that in order to play with the game pieces, he had to play one game. 

He just stared at me and realized how serious I was. It’s like he was flipping me off with his eyes

So I open the box and put the game together, because it was brand-new and still in pieces. Both of my grandmothers commented on how they hadn’t played this game since their kids were little, so it made me feel proud that they got a chance to play with their great-grandson… and away they went.   

 Willy started off strong by taking turns, and letting his great-grandmothers know when it was their turn to spin. But shortly after that, he got fidgety. He so badly wanted to end the game, so he could play with the game pieces and line them up. His frustration started to grow, but he maintained with gentle reminders for me. 

I’m pretty sure the game lasted no longer than 10 minutes, but for my boy, it was 10 minutes of sheer agony for him. His Granny (the one in the middle) won the game. Willy didn’t seem to care about winning or losing, he just wanted to get his hands on those game pieces. When I finally handed them over to him, you could hear  him breathe a sigh of relief. His compulsion, was simply to line them up and change their positions over and over again. I let him do it, but only for a few minutes.  

 I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of my son. I’m proud of him for holding back his compulsion to line up the game pieces until I told him he could. I’m proud of him for taking the time to play a game with his great-grandmothers. I’m proud of him for not losing his cool, when the game wasn’t going the speed that he wanted it to. And I’m the most proud of my son doing something that I never thought I’d see.

I never thought I’d ever see him play a boardgame with somebody else, with minimal assistance from me. 

Again, playing a boardgame is something that some NT parents might take for granted. A lot of parents don’t think about the energy that it takes to get through just one turn, never mind 10 to 20 turns. And the patience that it takes on both ends in order to be successful, well… it takes a lot. 

I hope everyone had a great weekend and a great week last week. Thank you for still staying with me after I took a week off to focus on the class that I’m taking. Take care and I’ll see you all tomorrow.  

 

3 thoughts on “A “sweet”story

Leave a Reply

