Post Christmas brew-ha-ha


Hi friends. I hope everybody had a nice holiday. Ours was filled with sniffly noses, bad coughs, and presents, presents, and more presents for Willy. I think he got everything that he asked for, but of course they were a few things that Santa couldn’t deliver. But then again that’s what moms and dads are for… to pick up Santa’s slack. 

Every year on Christmas Eve, we go to Jason’s cousin’s house for a fabulous Christmas Eve party. His cousin really knows how to throw a bash! The food is great, the drinks are divine, and she knows some of the most fascinating people I’ve ever met. But this year she decided to keep the party small, and I was grateful for that. Last year right around this time, we were starting to see some serious side effects from the anti-anxiety medicine that Willy was on. He was nervous, had anxious ticks, and his behavior was so unpredictable that we had to watch him closer than usual; he would go from 0 to 60 within seconds flat, and let me tell you… Jason and I were scared for him. We were also scared for each other as well. 

But towards the end of the party this year, Willy looked at me and yawned. He asked if we could go home, and I obliged. As I was putting on his socks and shoes, an older woman approached us and sat down on the couch nearby. She looked at us quite seriously and said, “Wow! What a change from last year to this year! Last year, I wasn’t quite sure what to make of him. This year, I think he’s a fine young man.” 

Now, ordinarily I would smile my fakest smile, say something witty, and leave it at that, but not this time. This time I was feeling bold, and a massive head cold was looming at the same time, so I didn’t have a whole lot of patience for stupid people that night. I stopped everything in that moment, looked at her seriously, and said, “well, last year was a hard year for us, but as you can see things are looking up.” And I left it at that. But of course, she she couldn’t leave it alone. And as she was comparing us to another family she knew, Jason rescued us both with a big kiss on the cheek for me, and the promise of Santa coming for Willy. 

I politely turned around, wished that horrible woman a happy holiday, and we made a quiet exit.

If I could erase last year from September 2014 to September 2015, I would. I really would… but I can’t. That horrible year will forever be burned in the back of my mind and I’m assuming that woman’s mind as well, because she witnessed Willy have a massive meltdown last Christmas Eve, kick his best girl, and then cryed in my arms for a half hour after. 

But those days are behind us now. No more anti anxiety medication for Willy, no more fear of taking him out in public for us. Those days are GONE and behind us now, and my son is blossoming right before our eyes in the most beautiful way there is. He still has his moments, but nothing compared to last year. Nothing could possibly compare to last year… 

 Willy and Everest posing on Christmas Eve. I love my boys more than I can say. Everest has done so much for all of us, but most importantly… he brings joy to our boy every day. Thank you Poodle. We love you.  

 Jessie L.’s elf seems to have the best time!  

 Fishing anyone?

3 thoughts on “Post Christmas brew-ha-ha

Leave a Reply

