Dear Husband,


Dear Husband,

Hello there. Allow me to re-introduce myself to you. My name is Jill. I am your wife. I like chocolate, a nice glass of wine, going to the movies, top 40’s music, seeing live theater, the beach, going on day trips, watching HG tv, trashy celeb magazines, and sometimes… doing absolutely nothing on a Saturday night. I work hard, and play hard. I’m a people pleaser by nature, but I have a big heart and like to help others. I am the mother to our beautiful child, your personal adviser, and your best friend. ❤️

But sadly, I’m not the same person that you met 13 years ago. I’ve changed. Sorry about that.

I remember the day we met. It was the first day of our musical theater class in college in 1996. I heard you singing with a group of friends, and I was in awe. Your talent was incredible, your blue eyes were mesmerizing, and your jokes (yes, your jokes) were so funny, that I just had to meet you. It took me a while to get the courage to introduce myself to you, but I’m glad I swallowed my nerves and went for it. 

And we became friends. 

Back then, my biggest worry’s in the world were at a minimum. They were almost silly compared to what they are today. I was a lot thinner, my skin was smoother, my hair shiner, and my all around attitude was a lot lighter. I was a “happy-go-lucky” kind of a girl, and that’s the person you fell in love with and married. 

The person that I am today is far different from the girl you once knew, and I apologize for that. I really do. On most days, I’m moody, spacey, overweight, stressed to the max (just about every day), and getting me to smile is not an easy feat a lot of the time. I always have a lot of my plate when it comes to real life, and the phrase “it wouldn’t be Monday or Tuesday or Wednesday, etc. without some kind of crises” it’s part of my daily terminology. 

You too for that matter. 

But as an “us/we,” we’ve stuck together through thick and thin. We’ve been through a lot together as a couple, and we have learned to navigate this world as a well-balanced, well- adjusted, well-oiled unit. 

So, allow me to reintroduce myself to you once again. My name is Jill. I am your wife. I love you each and everyday, and miss you when we’re apart. I still find your jokes (yes, your jokes) funny; even when I don’t show it. I appreciate all that you do for us as a family, and even though we don’t always see eye to eye or agree on everything, I still have the utmost respect for you and your ideas. I am, and always will be here for you, because that’s what marriage is all about. It’s give-and-take, 50-50, 80-20, 40-60, or however you want to look at it, on any given day. When life throws a curve at us, as it usually does, at the end of the day, when all is said and done, it’s you that is always by my side. And vice versa. We are a team. A unit. A well oiled machine. 

So, now that we’ve met again, just know that I’m trying. I’m trying to be less stressed, to listen more, to let things go, to people please less, to smile more, to be more adventurous, to hold my head a little higher, and to just enjoy life a little more. I feel like I’ve missed a lot over the past few months for various reasons, but my attention to our family has always been constant. Thank you for just being you. 

Love,

Jilly (your wife)

3 thoughts on “Dear Husband,

Leave a Reply

