Back to school! 


For the past three days, I’ve been telling my son that school starts back up on Tuesday (today). He’s been excited, and last night when my husband asked him if he was excited to see his friends, he said “oh yes” and started rattling off their names. 

That was a first!

Usually he can’t be bothered with such a mundane question, but this morning, he was bouncing around the house all excited. He even let me take this picture without issue. I know, right? The cuteness is almost too much to handle. Thank you Everest!

But there’s also something to be said about his new school and the team that works with him, and us. We had a progress report meeting not too long ago, and they were so excited about showing us all of his accomplishments. But lately, it’s his behavior that still needs some improvement. I asked them if he was bored, because that’s usually the case, and they said “no.” I asked if it was the timing of his med delivery, and they said “no.” They did mention something about a functional assessment (FA), and those occur when they can’t figure out why certain behaviors are happening. 

God I love his school. 

But best of all, I even got a call from his teacher this afternoon! She’s brand-new to his classroom, but she knows him well enough already to tell me that he had a great day with only two minor incidences of noncompliance! “i’ll take it!” I said, as I practically jumped for joy after hearing that he had a great first day! 

I feel like I can say, for the first time in a long time, that my son is truly where he’s supposed to be. He’s in a new school that knows him backwards and forwards, he’s in a fantastic class with teachers that understand him, and his home therapy is going incredibly well. I know that a lot of people aren’t as lucky, so I’ll leave you with this: Confucius says, “a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”  I feel like we’ve taken a giant leap with this journey, and as of now, it was a risk worth taking. 

8 thoughts on “Back to school! 

Leave a Reply

