Asking Children about 9/11


If you ask any adult exactly where they were on the day that New York City was attacked, and both twin towers came crashing down, I’m sure that they can give you a detailed account of that morning. I know I certainly can. And furthermore, everybody seems to know someone or has a friend of a friend that was directly affected. It was one of the saddest days of my young adult life back in 2001, and yes, I know someone that was directly affected, and he hasn’t been the same since. 

But if you ask a child that was born shortly before or shortly after, what 9/11 means to them, you’re going to get a vague answer. They talk about it in school, they talk about it with their families, and they talk about it amongst their friends, but to them, it’s a thought imprinted onto them by the media to ensure that nobody forgets. Even young children.

I found this YouTube video that is extraordinarily touching, and sadly, these children wholeheartedly except that this is the world that we live in, and can’t imagine it any other way. 

As a parent, I think about my own child; his needs, and how the world will perceive him and take care of him should catastrophe strike again. It shakes me to my core, because I know   that deep down, he will be the one that suffers. He will be left confused, concerned, and quite possibly out of his element, because he won’t understand what is happening. My son still lives in a world that is blissfully peaceful, full of sunshine, and has no idea what war is. I’d like to keep it that way for as long as possible, because the truth is almost too much for him to handle. 

Please enjoy this seven minute video and give a hug to someone close to him. 

2 thoughts on “Asking Children about 9/11

  1. That was an eye-opener. I never stopped to think about what the children of today really think, or know, what really happened on that horrible day, which I am sure will make the history books they have to read. It was hard for me to grasp the enormity of 9/11, and I was almost 41 years old when it occurred. I stood and watched as the second tower collapsed, and I think my mouth was just hanging open from the shock. Watching videos of it today, still causes that same reaction within me. I hope it will continue to affect all peoples, especially Americans, for eternity.

Leave a Reply

