An entirely new kind of drinking game!


Editors note: please take this post with a grain of salt. In no way, shape, or form, am I disrespecting my own child in anyway. I’m just bringing to light the obvious pink elephant in the room that’s been showing itself in my house for the past two weeks, and if I don’t keep my sense of humor sharp, then I’ll probably lose it! Yes, I am exactly that type of personality. I deflect stressful situations with humor. Sadly, keeps me sane. So, keep reading if your interested and you can decide for yourself. 

If you have a child on the spectrum thats somewhat verbal, than I can guarantee you  that they “script.” Scripting means, quoting from television shows, commercials, movies, or books. Some experts say that it’s a form of coping during highly stressful times, and others say that it’s a form of self stimulation. I’m leaning towards self stimulation in my case, but since every case is different, I can’t speak for you. I can only speak for me. 

Anyway, my son scripts all the time! It used to be a rarity that something original would come out of his mouth, but as he is maturing, I’m hearing more and more of what my boy actually thinks and feels, as opposed to what “Thomas the Tank Engine” or “Buzz Lightyear” thinks or feels. But every now and then, he slips back into old habits and will tell me how he thinks or feels through scripting. Last week in particular was a scripting nightmare. It got so bad that at one point that he was combining anywhere between 2-4 scripts at a time!

At one point I looked at my husband and said, “this could be a new kind of drinking game called name Name That Script! If you can debunk or decipher what ever movie, tv show, book, or commercial that Willy is scripting, then you take a drink.”

… yeah… I know exactly how bad that sounds but like I said, I need to keep my sense of humor sharp, because I’ll literally lose it if I don’t.

So I sat there in the living room just listening to Willy play. Within seconds of making that declaration, I heard the following, ” You block-head! Why? Because we’re Andy’s toys, and we have to stick together! Happy Mustache Day, Norval! 

Now, can you name any of the above movies or TV shows? 

Willy was scripting a scene from the Charlie Brown movie, Toy Story 3, and Wally Kazam. So, in the spirit of drinking games, I took a large gulp of water, because I was able to name all three of his scripts correctly. If I was drinking actual alcohol, I would’ve been completely plastered within the next 15 minutes.

This went on for the rest of the evening, from the moment he got home from school the following day, and all throughout the weekend. I considered joining him in his scripting at one point, but quickly decided against it, because when I walked into his playroom to tell him that it was time for bed that night, he was actually playing with toys while he was scripting. He had an entire world of play happening right before my eyes. He had characters set up doing various things, two play houses set up in full “party swing,” and was going from station to station acting out each part!

It was incredible!

The funny part about all of this, is that what I was hearing from the other room, compared to what was actually happening in his playroom, made sense! So in retrospect, no drinking game was needed. This was full on, un interrupted play… and it was awesome! I did eventually have to let him know that bedtime was near, so when he asked for one more minute, I gave him 10. 

See? Aren’t you glad you kept reading?

Have a great rest of your day, everyone!Wally Kazam 

Leave a Reply

